Little Gasps of Joy

26 Sep

Anyone who knows me knows I love those square Fresh Ink cards. One that I have tucked away for future use has a drawing of a little hamster and a photo of a ferris wheel and says “If I had a talking hamster, on his birthday I’d take the little guy to the carnival to see the Big Wheel. Upon seeing it, he’d be speechless, simply letting out little gasps of joy.”

I love that phrase “little gasps of joy.” Here are my little gasps this week:

-One of my favorite people in the whole wide world has found her very favorite person in the whole wide world and she’s making an honest man out of him! She sent pictures of all the planning and things she’s been working on. She’s going to be the most beautiful bride in history and have such a special day to kick off a lifetime of fun. I’m just so thrilled for her. This one comes with a little gasp of pain for me as I never imagined I wouldn’t be there with her for this. But the thrill and joy for her definitely outweighs that.

-I had my latest Dr. appointment yesterday and everything looks great. Our boy is healthy and kicking and all the tests came out good, Alhamdullilah. In fact, a few weeks ago, the ultrasound tech pronounced his head to be “not abnormally large.” So I guess that’s good. We’ve been given due dates anywhere between Dec 28 and Jan 13th. In a future post, I’ll open up betting for the actual arrival date. Winner gets an Egyptian goody, to be delivered upon (Grand-)Mama De Leon’s arrival back in the states.

-We have an official moving date! After six weeks of nearly having to smoke the previous resident out and then having some renovation done, our glorious new apartment is ready for us to move into on Saturday morning. With this apartment comes large windows, beautiful furniture, four rooms to do with what we will, a soft mattress, high speed internet and not an ounce of black marble/gold trim in sight. Also with this comes photos with future blog posts, thanks to a decent internet connection. Don’t worry, we’ll be putting up the Red Sea trip, we were just waiting to be able to give the visual with it.

-After two months, I finally got to talk to my dad! He was conveniently “out fishing” the two times I’ve been able to call home, but I tricked him and caught him at work. With the new apartment, we’ll have our Skype set up in a few days and will be able to call and get calls.

-Every week, Stacy has been e-mailing us an update on “the group” and our South Bend family. We look forward to reading these and are thrilled to picture the kids and how they’re doing. We’ve also become honorary Carriers and enjoy their family e-mails as well. Hi Chloe, Madeline, Jack, and Jeffrey! Also, Madeline received her Faith In God award, I’m so proud of her! It was an honor and a privilege to be her leader for part of that time and do so many fun things with her and the other girls. Congratulations!

-People here seem more than willing to help me with my Arabic. In addition to Miriam, our bubbly and endlessly patient tutor, several local cab drivers have been helpful in laughing at my pronunciation and correcting me when I got my streets mixed up. In fact, as he drove me to my destination, one pointed at streets, said the name, and made me repeat it until I had the pronunciation right. And a few days ago, the grocery delivery guy taught me the proper response to “Ramadan Kareem” (happy Ramadan or thereabouts) and we role-played, each of us taking turns saying the greeting and responding.

-I was frustrated because I couldn’t find lemons anywhere but most restaurants around here sell fresh lemonade that is soooo good. Finally I caved and bought a bag of tiny yellow limes…only to realize that they’re lemons!!! So we now have fresh lemonade.

What are your little gasps?

10 Responses to “Little Gasps of Joy”

  1. DaD September 27, 2007 at 4:27 am #

    Aaahh …. little gasps of joy, sounds pretty nice.
    Nice like an unexpected phone call from a ‘Finn growing’ Wurm half a world away.

  2. Kay September 27, 2007 at 9:44 pm #

    Even though our Sunday group is not the same without you, my little gasp of joy is reading this blog and knowing that you are safe and still have your sense of humor.

    Also, the “Office” starts tonight with a one hour premier! Wow–can’t get much more joy than that!

  3. Patrick September 28, 2007 at 4:49 pm #

    Okay, now you’re making me jealous, Kay, mentioning Sunday dinner AND “The Office” in the same post. I’m barely getting over the fact that I can’t watch college football (although Notre Dame is making that infinitely easier on me), I’m about to have serious trauma about missing the baseball playoffs (although the Braves have made that somewhat easier on me), and now I have to miss the one TV show worth watching. Remind me why I moved to Egypt?

    (Okay, I know that’s really shallow, wanting to trade a great experience for the chance to watch TV…but sometimes you just want to watch TV, you know?)

  4. Stacy September 28, 2007 at 9:39 pm #

    Just say it…You Moved To Egypt. It still hits me sometimes. Not like moving to Kansas or Georgia (either of which would probably be just as foreign to me). EGYPT. Anyway, Little Gasps Of Joy… Miles coming through the door, Madeline with a new creation, Jack saying “leaf-es” instead of leaves, Chloe really smiling (which she’s doing much more this year), dear friends, Sunday dinners, and this blog.

  5. Javi September 28, 2007 at 10:44 pm #

    Gives a whole new meaning to moving out past BFE.

  6. mom September 29, 2007 at 5:15 am #

    My little gasp of joy…..finalizing flight plans to Cairo to see my grandson being born.
    My daily big gasp of joy….oh dear Lord, I’m going to be a grandma.

  7. Dre September 29, 2007 at 5:21 am #

    And my little gasps of joy: one…….no, wait, two…………no, wait, THREE!!! little bundles of joy (gasp! gasp! gasp!) coming to our family in the next few months!!! How much more blessed could we be? Luisa, you don’t have a clue what joy is until you hold that little one in your arms for the first time.

  8. Melissa September 29, 2007 at 8:49 am #

    Aw grandmas, you guys are so cute.

    My little gasp right now is that the movers are coming in just over an hour to get us out of this bach pad.

  9. Paul September 29, 2007 at 6:54 pm #

    Lindsay and I send our greetings out accross the ocean, past the meditteranean sea and along the nile shore until it reaches your apartment or office or wherever you are reading this. We have enjoyed living in Egypt vicariously through you. It sounds surreal. We look forward to seeing some pictures. Patrick, we’re reading an article you wrote on Mormons and peace for our next glass darkly meeting. I really enjoyed it. It’s too bad you can’t be there for our discussion. Anyway, just thought I would say hi and encourage you to keep writing. We love it.

    If you’re interested, I’m working on an group urban design project in Cooperstown, NY this semester. We have a website at http://ndcooperstown.typepad.com that we just started. It has been really interesting working with the baseball hall of fame and the residents of Cooperstown. They have been very supportive.

    All our love to you guys. Don’t forget to eat plenty of ice cream, Melissa. I understand that fetuses love ice cream.

    Paul, Lindsay, Liam, and Adler

  10. Miranda October 13, 2007 at 10:09 pm #

    My gasp for joy arrived the day you made this post Melissa, but I haven’t turned on my home computer for a few weeks.

    My sister-in-law had her first baby, Brandt Wayne Wilcox, on the 26th of September. I am enjoying being an aunt and have been spending most of my free time at my brother and sister-in-law’s apartment holding Brandt and hosting my parents, the proud grandparents.

    I hope that your pregnancy continues to be a healthy one. Congratulations on moving into your new apartment!

Leave a Reply

