A Quick Update

1 Oct

No, we haven’t dropped off the face of the earth (unless you count being in Cairo). We FINALLY moved into our beautiful new apartment on Saturday and have been getting settled in. The place is great, a zillion times better than our first place. I finally feel at home and able to settle in and get comfortable. The lady who lived their before us was a “prima donna” in the words of a neighbor and demanded all the latest and greatest perks, so our flat is the subject of much envy from our buildingmates. Speaking of which, they’re great. Last night we decided to flip the living and dining room furniture around and before we knew it the doorbell started ringing and we had an apartment full of helpful neighbors carrying stuff around. Patrick was especially relieved. When I told him I wanted to swap around the furniture, I think he had visions of moving everything himself while I directed him from wherever I was perched with sugar cookie crumbs around my mouth. (I don’t know what it is about sugar cookies, they really are the vanilla of the cookie world, but I NEED them lately).

The one downside right now is that our internet isn’t working and the IT people are taking their sweet time getting it fixed. So while Patrick enjoys communication with the outside world everyday from his office, I’m twitching at home from my lack of connection. I’ve been popping into local cafes to use their wireless while the waiters glare at me for only ordering juice. Right now, in fact, I’m nursing a lemon hibiscus juice in front of a window overlooking a corner where the taxi drivers congregate and fight over fares. it’s an hour until Iftar and they’re looking pretty tired. I need to do the online readings for my grad class tonight but when one is deprived of the internet for days at a time one just wants to check e-mail and talk to people. But alas, malnutritioned refugee children, here I come.

As soon as our internet is fixed, we promise more frequent and regular posts!

One Response to “A Quick Update”

  1. Silus Grok October 1, 2007 at 5:24 pm #

    Pictures!

    We want pictures!

    Can’t very well live vicariously if we don’t know how the place looks!

    : )

Leave a Reply

