Back to the Land of the Living

14 Nov

After a week and a half, I’m finally starting to feel human again. I’ve spent the last little while in a fog of sickness and fatigue, wandering from flat space to flat space with my pillow, napping wherever I could. I went for days without setting foot outside my front door, or even opening the curtains.

It started last Tuesday, after Patrick got back. Despite having just spent 24 hours in international transit, he spent the day teaching and then came home and crashed. While he was napping, I walked over to the grocery store to get ingredients for the fabulous welcome home dinner I was planning for him. I wandered the aisles, picking up fresh ginger, limes, and imagining a gorgeous and colorful Thai spread. I paid for everything and then jauntily headed home, greeting Samir and Sabry, the taxi drivers on the corner who always ask how I’m feeling and how the baby is doing. I turned the corner and stepped off the curb and the next thing I know, I’m falling…hard.

It seemed like slow motion, I had time to realize I was falling, drop my groceries, and twist so I wouldn’t hit my tummy. The side of my right foot took most of the impact, then I came slamming down on my left knee, leaving most of the first few layers of it there on the dusty Cairo street. I rolled over and laid on the street stunned for a moment, as a woman in full veil came running up to help me. Luckily no kamikaze taxis were rushing by at the moment or I would have been toast. I was pulled up and dusted off, the initial shock was still there and the pain hadn’t set in yet. I hobbled the few steps to my building and got in the elevator, where I lifted my long skirt and saw the mangled bloody mess that was my knee. At this point I started to cry.

Despite trying to clean up without trying to wake Patrick, it is a difficult task to pull rocks out of one’s leg when one is unable to bend over because of a certain tiny person in the way. So my poor exhausted jet-lagged husband woke up confused to a crying bloody wife who at this point, can’t walk because the pain in the other foot has just kicked in. He was a champ though and got me taken care of and relocated to a couch where I moaned in pain for a few hours.

Anyways, after that ordeal, I promptly came down with a cold which, without medication and with the air quality here, quickly turned into a nasty case of bronchitis. I didn’t sleep for about four nights, which meant that my days were all a miserable, blurry haze. I kept thinking about those women in medieval times who would go into seclusion a couple months before they were supposed to give birth, and wondered if that was such a bad idea. I could stock the kitchen, put pillows all over the house, and not bother to get dressed or turn on the lights until January. That sounded kind of cozy to my fevered mind.

Luckily yesterday I started to snap out of it (probably much to Patrick’s relief). In an effort to keep myself busy, I sewed two brand new skirts during the day, intermittently flopping on top of sewing patterns, scissors, and fabric to nap. Then in the evening I made these delicious little gifts from heaven. They’re a little work, but when I was done and we feasted on them late last night, I felt like I had accomplished something productive for the first time in a long time. I slept well last night and woke up feeling somewhat human. I’ve started making a list of what needs to be done in the nursery in the next month and a half. It’s quite a long list but I’m excited to get started. First up, putting the Notre Dame border up around the walls.

It feels good to be back.

8 Responses to “Back to the Land of the Living”

  1. tracy m November 14, 2007 at 4:12 pm #

    What a week. I feel once when I was pregnant with Abby- it was scary- and it’s also amazing how your instincts kick in and you manage to twist in ways unimaginable to keep the bambino from hitting the ground.

    Sorry you’ve been feeling so poorly- bing sick and pregnant at the same time is so unfair.

    But I’m glad the cinnamon rolls brought you some happiness- they are a lot of work, but usually worth it. Hope they brought a little bit of home to you.

  2. mom November 14, 2007 at 6:24 pm #

    I’m sorry I wasn’t there with some caldito de tortilla to make it all better! I’m glad you’re feeling better.

    Notre Dame borders? Wouldn’t pyramids or camels be more appropriate? or sharks? or red-headed blue smurfs?

    I have two empty duffels just for you! What do you need?

  3. tracy m November 14, 2007 at 11:30 pm #

    Melissa’s mom- if one were to want to send Melissa something for the baby, where perhaps would one send that something to? Just curious, you know, for curiosity’s sake…

  4. mom November 15, 2007 at 3:43 am #

    You could join me when I fly over in early January! If not, and you’re serious, have Melissa give you my address and I’ll fit it into duffels.

  5. tracy m November 15, 2007 at 9:43 am #

    I am indeed serious- I make things, baby things, and Melissa and I blog together at BCC, and I would like to send her a small baby gift. Melissa…?

  6. Melissa November 15, 2007 at 3:04 pm #

    Oooh, Tracy makes beautiful baby things! I can’t say no to that! I’ll e-mail you my mom’s address.

  7. kennan November 24, 2007 at 2:29 pm #

    oh, mel! i’m sorry babe! nothing like a nasty fall to make the third trimester even worse. you are a good girl to sleep sleep sleep because that is what your body needs. no guilt about it!

    by the way, we loved having patrick here. it was like stacy said, though, “eating only one slice of pizza!” we missed seeing you too, but were grateful for what we got.

    take care of that baby and keep sleeping (although it is good to open the curtains sometime for psychological health…just don’t open the window to get a “breath of fresh air”). love you!

    ken

  8. Miranda November 24, 2007 at 9:18 pm #

    Congratulations Melissa–two skirts in a day!

Leave a Reply

