My Birthday Gift to You: Orange Rolls

4 Jan

Still no baby, despite a few more bumpy cab rides, a trip to the pyramidees, and a spicy Thai dinner. Mom is constantly rubbing him and giving him the business, so if he knows what’s good for him, he’ll make his debut soon.

Mom is here safe and sound and recovering from jet-lag. Despite her exhaustion, we took her out to the pyramids yesterday. She’ll recount the experience for you later, but here’s a choice picture to whet your appetite for more — she’s a natural! She’s carrying on the family tradition and keeping a blog of her experiences at mrsdeleon.wordpress.com.

Mom scared to death by camel

By popular demand, I’m giving you a gift for my 25th birthday- LeAnn’s orange roll recipe. I hope she doesn’t mind.

LeAnn’s Out of This World Rolls (Orange Variation)

2 pkts dry yeast
1/4 cup warm water
1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup sugar
3 eggs, well beaten
1 cup warm water
4 1/2 cups flour
2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
4 tsp grated orange peel

Soften yeast in 1/4 cup warm water and set aside. Place shortening, sugar, beaten eggs, 1 cup warm water, salt and 2 1/2 cups off the flour in a large mixing bowl. Beat until smooth. Add softened yeast and blend well. Add remaining flour and mix in (dough will be soft). Cover and place in warm place to rise until doubled. Punch down and place in refrigerator overnight. 3 hours before serving, divide dough in half and on a floured board or countertop, roll each half into a rectangle about 1/2 inch thick. Spread with softened butter. Mix 1 cup sugar with 4 tsp grated orange zest and sprinkle on dough after spreading softened butter. Roll up like a jelly roll, then cut into 1 inch slices. Place in greased muffin tins, cut side down. Cover and allow to rise 3 hours. Bake in 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes or until browned. Enjoy!

6 Responses to “My Birthday Gift to You: Orange Rolls”

  1. Carrie & Robann January 4, 2008 at 5:26 pm #

    Happy Birthday Melissa!!! 🙂
    Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Mickey January 5, 2008 at 8:34 am #

    Thanks for the recipe, Melissa. I’ll have to see if I can make the dough in my bread maker. I can’t get yeast to rise without it. And I hope you had a great birthday!

    Kelly

  3. Dre January 5, 2008 at 7:04 pm #

    I’m honored that you’d share my recipe. It’s almost a no-brainer (just takes time) but is well worth the effort. You forgot to mention, Melissa, that when I fixed them for your folks, your dad initially declined, saying he didn’t really like rolls/bread. One bite and he was a goner.

  4. tracy m January 6, 2008 at 3:09 am #

    Happy Birthday! I’m going to make them for tomorrow… Glad your mom is there- and so sorry I didn’t get anything to her for you- The holidays got in my way.

  5. DaD January 6, 2008 at 5:25 am #

    Thats right LeeAnn, and I still don’t eat bread with my meals (mostly tortillas) Maybe we could make a trade..
    orange rolls for fajita tacos.

  6. Dre January 7, 2008 at 6:48 pm #

    Javy, it’s a deal any day. Shall we meet in Las Vegas to make the trade?

Leave a Reply

