Inshallah, Finshallah

10 Jan

We started calling Baby Finn “Finnshallah” as a joke. Everyone here says “inshallah” so often and for such ridiculous reasons that we’ve become quite fond of the word. In Patrick’s endless litany of absurd nicknames for the baby, Finnshallah was just one of many. Now here we are, past two due dates growing extremely impatient and we find ourselves echoing the Egyptians by answering “inshallah” when people ask us when the baby is coming. Inshallah- literally meaning “when God wills it,” but more often used to say “I have no clue.” Finnshallah has turned out to be quite an appropriate nickname.

Finn, why aren’t you here yet? Aren’t you as excited to join us as we are to welcome you? We’re fluttering around folding tiny clothes and packing bags for a late night rush to the hospital while you flutter around giving the occasional kick and then going back to sleep. Are you just preparing us for parenthood, where we run around anxious and panicky, while you yawn and wonder what all the fuss is about?

Is it us? Have we done something wrong already? Did we not read to you enough as a fetus? Are you mad because of the generic Egyptian food I’ve been eating? Is it Patrick? I know he’s been talking for months about what a great opportunity having kids is to try social experiments and see how they turn out, but I promise he’s just joking (I think).

When you come, I promise we’ll be good to you. We have two grandmas lined up to show us how its done so we don’t screw up too badly. You may recognize one of the grandmas. She’s the one already here and tapping on you everyday and telling you to come out because her time in Egypt is ticking away. Your Auntie Laura will be visiting you in a couple of months to teach you about why camels should be replaced by llamas and tell you stories about your mom’s college days when they were roommates. All of these stories will be completely fabricated, of course.

Your bed is ready for you, and has a couple of friends in there waiting for you. One is a soft Winnie the Pooh lovey, in case you’re the traditional sensitive type and the other is a freaky little green monster with fangs, in case you’re a bit more rock n’ roll. Speaking of rock n’ roll, your grandparents have sent you a complete set of Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Metallica, and Tool lullabies for your listening pleasure.
Co-sleeper

Even though you’ll be sleeping in our room, we have your room all ready for you, so if you get sick of us, you have your own private space. It’s filled with gifts that your friends and family have sent you. I made curtains and a changing pad just for you. Grandma Bertha upheld the family tradition and hand stitched several beautiful quilts for you. Mom forgot to bring a baggie of Texas dirt to sprinkle under the hospital bed so you could be born over Texas soil, but we have a tiny pair of cowboy boots waiting for you anyways.
img_1341.jpgimg_1344.jpgimg_1343.jpgimg_1342.jpg

Please join us soon Finn, so I can finally take the hat I made for you off of the sugar jar and put it on your head, where it belongs.
img_1345.jpg

Maybe if I practice my mother voice: “Finn X Mason, you get your butt (or head, preferably) out here this minute!”

28 Responses to “Inshallah, Finshallah”

  1. Dre January 10, 2008 at 6:28 pm #

    In the interest of fair play and preparing for every eventuality, should I bring a bag of Utah soil with me? The cowboy boots will still work for either state. And if you do try saying your final quote, it’s to be followed by counting, very slooooooooow counting.

  2. becca January 10, 2008 at 7:52 pm #

    oh the waiting!! I read all the suggestions for inducing labor. I have one that worked for me. I am sure you cannot find it in Egypt, but its called Evening Primrose Oil and its a capsule, and you can take 2 pills like 3 times a day… and ta da… and perhaps its too personal, but in desperate times doing what got you in this situation in the first place often works… **blush** but its true. Walking also really does help… but when all is said and done, I have another motto that my 3 babes have taught me, “babies are easier to take care of on the inside than the outside!” however, I can totally relate to the feeling of discomfort, Im sure by now you feel like li’l Finn is about to drop right out as it is and your skin is all tight and stretched. ugh. Hope he comes soon for your sake Melissa!! The girls all wrote you another letter, and they will be funny as no one was sure if the baby had come yet, so you will have funny questions. I will mail them and you will get them when the baby is 2 or 3 months old! I am so glad your mom is there! How exciting! I hope it all goes well!!

  3. Stacy January 11, 2008 at 12:49 am #

    Dang. I didn’t win.

  4. jeff January 11, 2008 at 3:46 am #

    In the 70’s there was a product designed which was a turntable, that spun the mother around and used centrifugal force to “spin” the baby out. This is real. I heard it on NPR. So maybe you should spin around really fast. Just a thought.

  5. Javi (the brother) January 11, 2008 at 4:32 am #

    I don’t think anyone really understands the underlying physics of the whole process…

  6. uncle Joel January 11, 2008 at 5:53 am #

    Finn Mason
    Finn Mason
    We are anxiously wait’n
    W you com out wail’n

  7. uncle Joel January 11, 2008 at 6:00 am #

    Finn Mason
    Finn Mason
    We are anxiously wait’n
    Won’t you come out wail’n
    Finn mason
    Finn Mason
    Please let your Grandma
    Come home smil’n
    Finn Mason
    Finn Mason
    we are anxiously wait’n

  8. Patrick January 11, 2008 at 2:32 pm #

    Uncle Joel, when Finn starts his rock band, you’re writing the lyrics!

  9. Lisa January 11, 2008 at 5:43 pm #

    I’m a friend of Matt and Stacie’s. I thoroughly enjoy your blog.
    Two things i’ve used to induce labor
    Black cohosh tea (drank some in the morning and my water broke during the night and had the baby in 1 hr of labor – 3rd child)
    Castor Oil – mix 2 oz with something you’ll never want to drink again. Drank it in the afternoon, started labor pains about 11:30 and had the baby at 6:00 am. This was the first baby. You have to really want to have the baby because drinking castor oil is disgusting and it comes with side effects – vomiting and/or diarrhea.

  10. aunt yvette January 12, 2008 at 1:56 am #

    We need more updates!

    Our dates are coming or already here in Cairo time.

    Luisa must see FIn before she leaves.

    I think you should attempt to try the castor oil stuff, at least you will won’t be afraid of what might happen if they don’t require an enema at the hospital. I know I am gross and way too graphic, but labor is not a pretty thing. I think that the worse you anticipate it to be the better it ends up.

    We love and miss you!

  11. mrsdeleon January 12, 2008 at 7:07 am #

    Yvette, Mel has an appt. Sat. at 1:30. We’ll see what dr. says. In meantime, I think the pressure of all of us, especially me, anxiously waiting, is starting to wear on her. She and I have this routine where I put my ear to her tummy and ask Finn to speak to me and give me updates on his arrival but Melissa answers for him in this creepy raspy voice and then we fall apart laughing. I’m not sure Patrick’s amused.

  12. tracy m January 12, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    Eh, labor isn’t that bad. (said the woman who had her last baby is 17 minutes)

    I wish I knew what to do help you along… when I was overdue with #3, a woman actually emailed me and told me how to break my own water- I was too chicken (or not desperate enough!) to try it.

    Babies love inconvenience, so do something really involved, and maybe then he’ll show. Prayers are with you.

  13. Melissa January 12, 2008 at 11:22 am #

    It’s not pressure that’s starting to wear on me so much as my own impatience. It’s a treat to get on here everyday and read everyone’s support and suggestions. I think Finn will be a very loved baby.

    I’m still too scared of the castor oil, but talk to me again after I see the doctor today and he tells me to be patient.

  14. Stacy January 12, 2008 at 3:46 pm #

    Miles says ditto to Becca’s suggestion – not the primrose oil, the blushy one. He also says that a small glass of wine is supposed to help, but Bishop Miles doesn’t recommend that! πŸ™‚ We’re all over here thinking of you constantly – praying, too. Finn is already a very loved baby!

  15. aunt yvette January 12, 2008 at 6:15 pm #

    OK, its after 1:30. What did the Dr. say? I don’t mean to be pushy, it’s just that we are ALL anxious. I am sure Mel is about to burst. From exhaustion, anticipation and frustration. thank you for writing me Luisa, I was starting to think that I was being ignored. You all know that I am not used to that.

    I won’t say labor was easy, as you, Luisa, have gone through it, and well, you waited and waited and heard me with Nicholoas, but it was all worth it.

    Nicholas is the most loving and blessed boy, even though he gets a LITTLE excited. He thinks Mel still has time to have Finn today. Nick doesn’t like to not win.

    Please update us ASAP. We are all awaiting any news.

    Much love,
    Yvette

  16. Patrick January 12, 2008 at 7:16 pm #

    I’ll put in a quick note, then Melissa can give more details later. We visited the doctor, and he nonchalantly said, “Everything looks good, see you in a week.” I thought Melissa was going to jump across the table and strangle him. She probably would have, except she was exhausted because I had forced her to walk all over Cairo that morning in what we hope will be our own little Labor Day Walkathon. Basically, the doctor says the baby seems very healthy, Melissa looks great, and it could happen any day, but he can’t predict if it will be today, tomorrow, or next week. If Finn hasn’t come by next Saturday, we’ll see the doctor again and then talk about the possibility of inducing.

  17. Mickey January 12, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    I’m so sorry Melissa. I’ve been there three times and I’m not a patient person either. It’s SO frustrating. I can only recommend keeping busy and scheduling all your days for next week, even naps. That way you’ll have something else to look forward to and maybe not think too much about Finn not coming. I know you’ve heard this already and it’s hard not being in control but babies come when they want. Good luck.

    Kelly

  18. Kay January 12, 2008 at 8:33 pm #

    Any chance Mama DeLeon can extend her stay??? Just a thought! We love you and we love Finn even if he is acting like a redhead!

  19. Dre January 12, 2008 at 9:03 pm #

    I think Finn is waiting for the Two Wise Grandmothers to both be in attendance. Beats having Three Wise Men any day. We’ll both come bearing gifts, just don’t expect gold, frankincense, and myrrh (although I can’t attest for what Luisa packed in her suitcase).

  20. mrsdeleon January 12, 2008 at 9:17 pm #

    I came bearing Pringles! The Pringles disappeared immediately. I am staying through the week as planned but I really really miss my hubby so there’ s no guarantee after that.

  21. Cody January 12, 2008 at 10:55 pm #

    Two more days.

  22. aunt yvette January 13, 2008 at 3:19 am #

    I am soooo sad to hear you have to wait more. My computer key board is acting wierd, so I have to write using my phone, please forgive mspellings, abv., etc.. good luck, & Inick & I will say a prayer for all of u.

  23. mrsdeleon January 13, 2008 at 5:55 am #

    Yvette, Melissa was remembering being at the hospital during your labor with Nick and how all of your brothers and us wives had our heads pressed to the door of your delivery room. They were so excited that their little sis was having a baby and you just wanted that baby out now! I can’t believe how time has passed so quickly. I wanted Nick to win this bet. Wouldn’t that have been neat!

  24. Elaina January 13, 2008 at 7:06 am #

    I’ve been thinking about you all week and wondering if I should hand out unsolicited advice. Matt did a pressure point on my ankle bone and both my girls were born the next day. I’m not saying it worked, but it’s harmless, non-invasive, quick and worth trying. Here is an excerpt from a pregnancy book:
    “Firm finger or thumb pressure over particular acupuncture points sometimes starts contractions or makes them stronger. One point is located four fingerbreadths above the inner anklebone. You press the inside of your shin bone, angling forward and in. This is a painful spot. Try pressing three times for ten to fifteen seconds each time, resting for a few seconds in between. “

  25. Elaina January 13, 2008 at 7:16 am #

    Okay, NOW I read the part about how you’ve already tried everything. Please forgive my useless advice. Sorry! Good luck getting through the next few days.

  26. Melissa January 13, 2008 at 11:34 pm #

    Still no news. I just got an auto-email from iVillage’s pregnancy website, which I had been following for the last few months. The subject line was “You are now 42 weeks pregnant!” I almost smashed the computer.

    Elaina, we’ve been using that pressure point but to no avail.

    Mom is staying on until Saturday, so that gives Finn a few more days to show himself. In the meantime, we’ve decided to ignore him and go about seeing Cairo. Hopefully that tactic will work. We’ll let you all know as soon as we know anything.

  27. Dre January 14, 2008 at 1:53 am #

    Ummmmmmm, are you really sure you’re pregnant?

  28. saeglopur January 14, 2008 at 4:05 am #

    I just thought I’d let Patrick know my first article for Sociology: The Family, using The Simpsons as it’s main source of reference. Good luck, hope Finn comes soon.

Leave a Reply

