You’re STILL here?!

14 Jan

It’s gotten to the point where people are laughing at me.

I know that sounds paranoid, but I’m serious. Yesterday Mom and I were taking a walk when a friend passed by in her car. All I heard was her laughing and saying “you’re still here?” and then she was gone. To her credit, it wasn’t like she was trying to laugh and run, taxis were forcing her to keep going so she couldn’t stop and chat. But still, for a moment I just saw a car blur by and heard someone cackling at me. I felt like the world was mocking my round, waddling state.

This morning I went in and met with someone from Egypt Today, a big English language magazine here in Egypt. I’m probably going to be taking a job with them (part-time, I get to set my own hours and work on my own timetable) proofing copy for each month’s issue. The editor knew I was pregnant and when he saw me come in, he asked when the due date was. I muttered “yesterday” and noticed his eyes grew large and fearful.

At this point, either Kelly is going to win the due date competition or nobody is. Then again, I could reopen it for more guesses, but at this point I feel like I’d have to take bets on dates through February, because that seems to be what this kid is aiming for.

Sigh. Maybe tonight…

19 Responses to “You’re STILL here?!”

  1. Cody January 14, 2008 at 11:12 pm #

    “Either Kelly is going to win the due date competition or nobody is.”?

    Ahem.

  2. tracy m January 15, 2008 at 12:05 am #

    No one shoud ever laugh at a seriously pregnant women. Ever.

    Don’t they have some archaic laws in Egypt? Can’t a person lose a hand for that or something?

    Praying for you all, to for Finnshallah to join the world today.

  3. Mickey January 15, 2008 at 1:55 am #

    Melissa, I really hope he comes tonight, not so I’ll win (well, maybe a little) but so you can have some relief.

    Kelly

  4. becca January 15, 2008 at 2:45 am #

    oh boy! I am feeling for you! I can not imagine that email that said 42 weeks!! I would have totally thrown something at the PC. Hang in there!

  5. Melissa January 15, 2008 at 4:03 pm #

    Sorry Cody, you’re time has passed.

    Still here…

  6. Melissa January 15, 2008 at 4:04 pm #

    *your

    gahh

  7. Aunt Yvette January 16, 2008 at 2:45 am #

    When does Grandma “Dre” get there? I am sorry that you are still waiting. Hopefully Fin will come and soooooon! Make sure to make Patrick write as soon as it happens. We don’t want any delay. Will the Dr. really induce, and is the baby in position? Tell your mom to give him the mean teacher voice, if she hasn’t already. Also, are people allowed in the delivery room? or do they abide by the no one but the Dr., nurse, and mother to be in the room.

  8. Cody January 16, 2008 at 6:37 am #

    I concede my loss. Kelly is smart. Probably watched a lot of Price is Right growing up.

    I know this might seem impossible, but try to enjoy being able to take care of your baby just by living, breathing, and eating. Soon, you have to deal with poo/pee, then lack of sleep, then technology (monitors, baby wipe warmers, robot nannies, etc). Rumor has it that eventually you even have to try to reason with them, though as a rule we don’t do that in our household.

  9. Patrick January 16, 2008 at 10:50 am #

    Cody – Wise words from a wise man. In an election season, it’s heartening to see patriotic Americans such as yourself admit a loss and move on, seeking only what’s best for the country. And your advice is probably equally applicable to the candidates — it’s one thing to be pregnant (a candidate), it’s another thing to actually get the job (the baby) and have to clean up all the crap. And reason is optional.

  10. Your Public January 16, 2008 at 5:22 pm #

    Your Public demands an update!

  11. Melissa January 16, 2008 at 5:45 pm #

    Dear Public,

    This morning I woke up and couldn’t stand to stay in the house waiting for another long day. We went downtown and visited the Egyptian Museum and AUC then took a long and bumpy cab ride home. I’m wiped out but Finn seemed entirely non-plussed. We’ll be meeting with the Dr. again tomorrow afternoon to discuss serving an eviction notice.

  12. Dre January 16, 2008 at 6:08 pm #

    And dare I ask why you’re so assiduously avoiding castor oil? From the poll of your people, it definitely works. Of course, that may be why Patrick has red hair and was a frail and weakened child, but hey, you can’t have everything.

  13. mrsdeleon January 16, 2008 at 7:52 pm #

    Yvette, LeAnn gets here on Wednesday. It remains to be seen whether we’ll have a grandchild for her by that point. The baby has been in perfect position for quite a while now and seems to really like it there. Tomorrow we’ll talk about induction, which would probably take place early next week. I’ve already been assured that Patrick and Mom are both allowed in the delivery room and that no random strangers will be allowed to wander in and out, as I have heard happens at the public hospitals.

    LeAnn, the easy answer to your question: I’m a big fat chicken. That and I don’t know where to find castor oil here.

    A friend from church has offered to lend me her mini-trampoline.

  14. Dre January 16, 2008 at 9:38 pm #

    Well, my dear sweet mucho pregnant daughter, if you won’t be induced until next week, wait until Thursday, since I won’t get in until Wednesday night. I could weep for your mom. If we haven’t heard by Tuesday a.m. (SLC time), I’m bringing the biggest jug of castor oil I can find, as well as some Utah soil.

  15. Dre January 16, 2008 at 9:39 pm #

    P.S. And I will enlist Patrick’s help in hogtying you and forcing the castor oil down your throat.

  16. Aunt Yvette January 17, 2008 at 1:52 am #

    I am so glad someone finally praises the use of castor oil. I must say if I were desperate, I would suck it down with something really warm and probably m ixed with alot of honey. Much love and good luck.

  17. Javi (the brother) January 17, 2008 at 2:54 am #

    Mel,

    Sometimes NO news IS news, especially w/family 6000 miles away.

    – Javi

  18. Kay January 17, 2008 at 5:22 am #

    Sue Haney wants me to tell you that she was going to guess Jan. 18th, but she was afraid if she put it on the calendar that you would be tempted to fly across the world and strangle her for even thinking that you would go that far. Under the circumstances she wants to win the prize if she’s right. Hang in there, little Finn will come into this world eventually!

  19. Nancy January 17, 2008 at 6:50 am #

    My friend just had her baby last week (not to rub it in or anything)…the poor girl had never been so pregnant in her whole life. Her first baby was five weeks early (again, not to rub it in–no one really wants a baby 5 weeks early) so she was thinking she was going to have the baby any moment for quite some time. I told her not to expect this one to come early because since her first was THAT early the likelihood was not great that her second would be anything like the first…but she hoped anyway.

    So, the little girl she finally had was well enough overdue.

    My poor friend was all ready to have the baby in November, for crying out loud, and she didn’t have it until last Monday.

    Anyway…I hope your baby will be kind to you and show up soon.

Leave a Reply

