The end is (not) near (enough)

17 Jan

Quick update. We just got back from the doctor. He checked everything out, and says that all signs are that an induction would be successful. He’s a by-the-book kind of guy, and says there are no reasons why he should induce early, and wants to give the baby every chance to come naturally. All good things…except when you’re overdue and desperate. He set a date for induction for next Thursday (Jan 24). The flip side is that because everything is progressing so well, he thinks–but can’t be sure–that labor will start itself “pretty soon.”

“Pretty soon.” That’s all we got.

30 Responses to “The end is (not) near (enough)”

  1. Javi (the brother) January 17, 2008 at 3:54 pm #

    Thanks for the update.

  2. Dre January 17, 2008 at 5:40 pm #

    Thanks so much for potentially accommodating my schedule and having the baby on the 24th. Like it’s all about me.

  3. Jeff January 17, 2008 at 5:57 pm #

    Anne was induced both times on or near her due date because of elevated blood pressure. The second time she actually requested to be induced because it is so much more convenient than waiting for nature to take it’s course. You know exactly when to show up and there is no mad panic as you drive to the hospital. Finding someone to take care of the older child was much easier too.

    Of course, her doctor said no until her BP shot up in the 39th week. We were almost glad it did. 🙂

  4. neejinx January 17, 2008 at 6:23 pm #

    Just adding our best wishes from here in Atlanta. We’ve been thinking of all of you and particularly Melissa and little one. We’re very empathetic–it must be very trying for the soul. For my two cents having a cautious by the book doctor isn’t such a bad thing. Induction works best in any case when the body and baby are close to ready and responsive. We also had an induction due to high blood pressure, and after a day on a pitossin drip to no avail and then the complication of an infection after they had broken my water, we ended up with a C-section at midnight. Still a “successful” outcome for all involved since we all survived the process and have lived happily ever after–BUT definitely not part of my personal birth plan–HA! (Anyone want any natural childbirth books?) Then with our recently born number three, it was to be a third by this time unavoidable C-section. We had the date scheduled–to avoid our anniversary and a certain doctor. You guessed it. For the first time with any pregnancy, I went into labor. On our anniversary! And he was born a minute to midnight. Grrr…babies….for such little things, they sure do assert their will from the very start. Even when you think you can plan it nicely…it appears, you can’t. So I’m not sure if this little post is comforting–waiting a little longer may be a good thing. Or going to cause more anxiety–things don’t always go as planned. In any case, our prayers and thoughts extend to you in Egypt. It will be/is such a glorious time for you! Renee and Eric Chambers

  5. tracy m January 17, 2008 at 7:01 pm #

    I’m so sorry….

  6. mrsdeleon January 17, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    Javi, as soon as I started packing, things started progressing with Finn. You were right, Finn was waiting to see if I’d leave. I hate it when my son is right! But the last laugh is on me, I’m staying! Surprise Surprise Finn!

  7. Javi (the brother) January 17, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    Why do you think labor lasted 48hrs with me? I was hoping you’d leave, unfortunately I didn’t think my cunning plan all the way through…

  8. tracy m January 18, 2008 at 1:34 am #

    So the Finn-ster is on the way?? Glory be!

  9. jeff carrier January 18, 2008 at 5:59 am #

    I’m sorry, but honestly, if things went exactly as planned, you wouldn’t nearly have as many blog posts or stories about it. And now you have leverage to hold over Finn for the rest of his life.

  10. Melissa January 18, 2008 at 10:31 am #

    Tracy, Finn is on the way in a very broad sense. Mom was excited because the Dr.’s exam was encouraging and showed that my body might actually be thinking about labor at some point in the near future. No timing contractions yet. Just taking lots of long walks.

    Jeff, indeed.

  11. tracy m January 18, 2008 at 6:34 pm #

    Crap. I told Evans at BCC that I thought you were in labor. Come oooooooon, Finn!

  12. Melissa January 18, 2008 at 7:37 pm #

    I thought Evans was omniscient? Maybe it just seems that way.

  13. Stacie January 18, 2008 at 8:40 pm #

    Hope this is moot. In case you don’t already have a list, here are some herbs described as “uterine stimulants”(“use only during labour”–not that I’ve tried any of these things): Basil oil, Beth root (Trillium erectum), Broom (Cytisus scoparius), Clove oil, Dong quai (Angelica polymorpha var. sinensis), Feverfew (Tanacetum parthenium), Golden seal (Hydrastis canadensis), Greater celandine (Chelidonium majus), Juniper and juniper oil (Juniperus communis), Lady’s mantle (Alchemilla xanthoclora), Shepherd’s purse (Capsella bursa-pastoris)
    For more info and a longer list, see http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/isitsafeto/herb&drugchart/

  14. Patrick January 18, 2008 at 11:07 pm #

    Stacie, I think you left off the three calling birds, two French hens, and a partridge in a pear tree. Actually some of those herbs might be good candidates for a middle name. It would be like selling sponsorship rights to our baby — whichever herb actually gets him here gets its name on his birth certificate. Finn Feverfew Mason…Finn Dong Quai Mason…Finn Bursa-Pastoris Mason. (Melissa is frowning again, I just know it.)

  15. Stacy January 18, 2008 at 11:18 pm #

    Okay, Patrick, Miles and I BARKED out a loud laugh at your post (we were reading it at the same time). Hmmm….I don’t think Finn Trillium Erectum Mason works. Come on, Finn, we are all cheering for your arrival over here! Love you all!

  16. jeff carrier January 19, 2008 at 1:19 am #

    I wonder if you could get some money out of it Patrick. Can you sell the rights to a baby’s middle name. Try it on eBay.

  17. Aunt Yvette January 19, 2008 at 2:08 am #

    If you named him Finn Dong Quai, I may fear he may get this ” no more yanky my wanky, the Donger need food!”. Sorry, but that was the first thing I thought of.
    How is it going today?

  18. Aunt Yvette January 19, 2008 at 5:07 pm #

    OK, I know it’s a decent hour over there. Update?

  19. Melissa January 19, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    Haha! “the Donger need food” is a common phrase in the De Leon home. I’m sure when we’re there this summer, we’ll hear it quite often.

    We’ve all been vegging out on the couches today. I’m feeling exceptionally tired and have had a backache all day. We’re hoping that’s a good sign but are trying to not hold our breaths.

  20. Miranda January 19, 2008 at 6:39 pm #

    Best wishes Melissa–surviving the indefinite waiting and the delivery.

  21. Kay January 19, 2008 at 7:15 pm #

    I don’t want to get your hopes up, but backaches were always how my labor started. How much longer is your mom going to be able to stay???

  22. Melissa January 19, 2008 at 7:46 pm #

    She’ll be here until Saturday, so she’ll definitely get to meet the little guy.

    We miss you guys, Kay! Patrick was just acting like Jim at dinner and making me eat two more bites of broccoli.

  23. tracy m January 19, 2008 at 9:54 pm #

    Yeah, backaches are a good thing when labor is impending…. praying for y’all!

  24. Aunt Yvette January 20, 2008 at 2:31 am #

    I also stareted with a backache, kinda like a mix between menstrual cramps and the flu. If you keep having to go pee, chances are your water broke. I can’t wait for it to happen. I am so happy that your mom is getting to stay to see you and help you. Everything will be fine, and once he’s here, you’ll forget all about the waiting.

    I won’t mention any other parts of the movie David and I quote all the time, but they most likely won’t be “oh, there’s sooooo p……….” ever again. Oh well, the price we pay, but it’s worth it. Love you lots,
    Yvette

  25. mrsdeleon January 20, 2008 at 3:21 pm #

    Kay, I’m here unti Saturday although I’m keeping a careful distance from Melissa. She is so antsy at this point that she’s looking for any diversion to take her mind off the waiting, and for her own amusement has suggested dropping me off somewhere in Cairo and having me find my way back. She says this knowing I am terrified by the cab drivers here and would likely be lost for days walking in circles! I fear for my life. Save me Finn!
    By the way, Jim has a terrific recipe for pork chops and potatoes he served us this past summer. Any chance I can have the recipe?

  26. Melissa January 20, 2008 at 5:34 pm #

    I’m just trying to keep you from being bored! It’s not like we’d leave you stranded. We’d give you a map with interesting places marked and a cell phone in case you got hopelessly lost. A one person Amazing Race, if you will. Sheesh. Some people have no sense of adventure.

  27. Kay January 20, 2008 at 7:49 pm #

    OK, Melissa, I’m started to wonder if you just through us all off on your due dates so you wouldn’t have to make good on all the prizes; and so you could force your mother to stay longer just for entertainment purposes.

    Luisa, Jim’s recipe is fairly simple. You just slice potatoes very thin and place in a 9 x 13 pan and pour cr. of mushroom soup over them. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and garlic salt. Season thinly sliced pork chops with Lawyr’s seasoning and place on top of the potatoes. Cover with foil and bake for about 2 hours at 300 then remove foil and bake for another 30 min. It’s one of those recipes that you can play with and it always turns out. I’m glad you are going to be there for another week. But please don’t let Melissa drop you off at the corner!

  28. Dre January 21, 2008 at 1:59 am #

    I’m starting to get really nervous about the mental state of the people I’ll be visiting in Egypt.

  29. jeff carrier January 21, 2008 at 4:28 am #

    ok when there are this many comments, we need a new post. Even one just saying nothing has happened.

  30. mrsdeleon January 21, 2008 at 5:32 pm #

    Thanks Kay, my mouth watered just writing down the recipe. Patrick took me sightseeing today to keep me out of Melissa’s sights. Still waiting.

Leave a Reply

