The Last Day

23 Jan

Finally, a feeling of certainty! I am certain that by tomorrow morning we will have gotten this labor process under way. There will indeed be a baby on the way, whether he likes it or not. I hope he likes it. Really, he has no choice. But I hope we can make his welcome into the world as comfortable as possible.

Last night Patrick and I went out on what we jokingly called our Last Date. From the horror stories we’ve heard, we figured that it would be awhile before just the two of us could slip out and enjoy a dinner together. Then again, we plan to train Finn to travel well from the getgo, so if all goes well I imagine we’ll still be able to be quite mobile. Of course, I have no idea what I’m talking about and all the mothers out there who know better are rolling their eyes at me. We’re planning to climb Mt. Sinai with him in a backpack in a couple of months. A bit naive, I fear?

I feel like I should be out doing things today, since I’m pretty much at the end of my life as a completely independent person. It would be easier to live it up if I didn’t feel like a roly-poly. But I can’t think of much that I’d like to do to mark the end of one phase of life and the beginning of another. When I was younger, it took me a while to realize that life isn’t full of sharp distinctions. Rather, huge life changes surprised me when they came as smooth natural transitions. Like getting married. I thought it would be very unusual to be a married person, like I would feel completely different once I was married. But I was exactly the same person, just flowing along with the natural movement of life and adapting along with it. Right now I don’t feel like I need to be mourning the loss of life as I know it. Instead I’m looking forward to this next part and all that comes with it.

So tomorrow morning at 9:30 am, Patrick and I, armed with two grandmas (one who will be extremely jet-lagged), a backpack full of snacks and baby clothes, three breathing techniques, and a sense of “what the hell are we doing?”, will make our way to the hospital. When we come back home, Inshallah, we’ll be bringing the newest and tiniest member of our family home with us.

We’ll be keeping Dad updated, who will be spreading information to the family. As soon as we get home, we’ll fill everyone else in and hopefully have some pictures for you as well. See you then!

23 Responses to “The Last Day”

  1. Uncle Joel January 23, 2008 at 4:57 pm #

    Melissa, Patrick, Luisa,

    At last the time has come! God has a purpose for everything that we go through in life and this is one of those small tests. I will be praying for you and baby Finn, and I am sure that everything will be just fine. I was thinking that you might want to pack a toothbrush and maybe a razor along with all the baby items you are taking to the hospital with you. HEHE. God Bless, Uncle Joel

  2. Kay January 23, 2008 at 6:19 pm #

    I wish I had some great words of wisdom to bestow upon you before tomorrow. Something deep and inspirational that you could ponder during the birthing process, but I’m quite sure that both of you are as prepared as anyone can be. Your life is changing but only for the better. You are in our prayers.

    We love you!

  3. tracy m January 23, 2008 at 7:46 pm #

    Hooray! You are going to do fine- it will the most amazing thing you can imagine, when they set little wet Finn on your tummy. You are so close to God when you have a baby- the veil is very thin there. Relish it.

    Looking forward to good news. I’ll be praying for you and your family.

  4. Stacy January 23, 2008 at 7:59 pm #

    YEE-HAW!!! It’s better than you ever imagined! (Worse, sometimes, too, but fortunately, those times out-weigh the bad – and I’m not talking about the labor part because, well, you know!) You and Patrick are wonderful parents because you’re wonderful people. We’re so excited for baby Finn! Our prayers are loud for you over here – we love you!

  5. Chad and Rachel January 23, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    Patrick and Melissa, good luck tomorrow!

  6. DaD January 24, 2008 at 1:48 am #

    Just got a call from Luisa @5:30pm Texas time(@1:30am cairo) …..They are headed for the hospital!
    Leann is also there. The plan was for tomorrow @ 11:00am, So much for plans. I guess Finn was waiting for Grandma Leanne. (I guess it was all about her after all.)

  7. Janae January 24, 2008 at 2:55 am #

    Thanks for the update “Dad” 🙂 How exciting!!!!

    Mel and Patrick you will be great parents. Aren’t you glad someone who has known you since 7th grade can truthfully say that of you? Happy Fantastic life Fin!

  8. Uncle Javi (the brother) January 24, 2008 at 6:23 am #

    I’ll probably be asleep when Finn is born… so here’s an early Congratulations!

  9. DaD January 24, 2008 at 8:28 am #

    Congratulations!!!!!! I got the phone call 12:15pm Texas time(8:15am Cairo) from a very emotional GRANDMA Luisa at the hospital. Both mother and baby Finn are looking and doing good. Am expecting a call from Melissa later tonite with more details…..yeaaaaa

  10. DaD January 24, 2008 at 8:29 am #

    Hi Janae!… It’s GRANDPA now!

  11. Stacy January 24, 2008 at 12:44 pm #

    Welcome to the world, Baby Finn! You are a very loved and lucky little baby! Whew!

  12. Miles January 24, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    Prayers are answered, but not in our time…Congratulations! We are excited for y’all!

  13. Robann January 24, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    Woo-hoo!! We are so happy for all of you!! Enjoy every moment, tough ones included, for each day is a gift. Congratulations!!

  14. Kay January 24, 2008 at 2:48 pm #

    Congratulations! I’m so happy that both Grandma’s were there. Luisa I fully understand those emotions. Nothing can describe the feeling of seeing your baby holding their baby for the very first time. It’s pretty overwhelming. I’m so happy you could be there for the big event, and I’m glad Leeann made it safe and sound!

  15. Aunt Yvette January 24, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

    Yeah!!!!! Finn you finally decided to see the great, big wonderful world. Don’t worry you will be spoiled rotten with love from all those that love you.

  16. DaD January 24, 2008 at 3:42 pm #

    8 pounds, 6oz……..22inches, sounds like a big healthy boy to me.

  17. reecherd January 24, 2008 at 6:00 pm #

    that’s HUGE! 5 whole pounds more than Douglas!
    CONGRATULATIONS Finn, parents, grandparents, and great-grandparents!

  18. Uncle Joel January 24, 2008 at 6:20 pm #

    CONGRATS! Mom-Dad.& Grandmas& Grandpaws,
    everybody here is happy & excited for all of you! I am taking Grandpaw Javy to Outback tonite for dinner to celebrate. Best of luck, Uncle Joel

  19. tracy m January 24, 2008 at 7:14 pm #

    Congratulations to the whole family- and especially to Melissa and Patrick and welcome to the world, baby Finn! That’s a big boy!

  20. Nancy January 24, 2008 at 8:14 pm #

    I think hiking Sinai is possible but tricky with a new baby. I’ve never hiked it with a baby but when I hiked it I was hot all the way up, freezing to death at the top, and hot most of the way down. Pack with that in mind. 🙂 Of course Finn won’t be exerting himself so he might not get hot on the way up…but once the sun rises things heat up quite a bit. Anyway, good luck with him!

  21. Grandpa & Grandma January 25, 2008 at 1:15 am #

    Congratulations——-We are very excited, That everything went fine,Great grand ma says that Finn was very polite to let both grandmas see him come in to this world. You can’t imagine the love we feel for him. God bless You all.Take care.

    Great grandpa and Great grandma

  22. Adrianne January 25, 2008 at 5:40 am #

    Well, I just heard the great news !!!!! Congratulations to all of you !!!!! Melissa, Patrick you have been given a wonderful gift; a precious symbol of your love. He will bring you great joy balanced with many challenges. Treasure every moment with him. . . they grow up very fast.
    Wishing you all the best and again, a heartfelt congratulations as you embark on your new journey.

    All of our love,

    The Rodriguez family: Adrianne, Gilbert, Eric, Steven
    Aunt Bertha Garcia
    The Ramirez family: Patty, Mark, Matthew, Sarah
    The Garcia family: Tito, Liz, Lauren

  23. Uncle David January 25, 2008 at 12:42 pm #

    Welcome to the world Sir Finn. Nothing better.

Leave a Reply

