Free At Last (until Finn wakes up)

25 Feb

Hoo-wee, babies sure do demand a lot of attention. Our own little diva (divo?) likes to keep me on my toes, making sure I don’t stray as far as the shower or kitchen to address my own cleanliness and sustenance needs. On the flipside, everytime I try to do the dishes, without fail, he starts to cry. I’m totally serious. This is not just me using the baby as an excuse to get out of cleaning. Really.

Last week, at Finn’s pediatrician appointment, the Dr. said that I could take him out if the weather was nice. Walking out of there, only one of a small handful of excursions out of the apartment I had taken in the last few weeks, I felt like I’d been handed a golden ticket of freedom. My world, which had increasingly felt constricted and suffocating, started to expand again.

The next day Finn and I went out on the first of our daily excursions. It was slow going at first. I made the mistake of taking him out when the school across the street was releasing, so the streets were jam packed with drivers, taxis and punk teenagers. I had planned to walk the broad sidewalk around the school, as it was the only consistent sidewalk in all of Maadi. I ended up dodging masses of kids and parents, parting the crowds like Moses with a stroller, determined to get all the way around the school. As I crossed the street back to my building, one of my cab drivers, Samir, stopped his cab in the middle of traffic and leapt out, leaving the motor running and the door open. He ran over and began cooing at Finn, who was sleepily indifferent. Cars were honking and people were yelling out their windows until Samir finally gave up and ran back to his cab and started the flow of traffic again.

Since then, we’ve taken trips in the stroller or his front carrier all around Maadi. We’ve checked out books, gone to a bazaar, taken passport photos, all while avoiding speeding taxis who don’t brake for strollers.

I’m feeling a lot freer, which had given me a chance to stop being so anxious and start enjoying Finn’s personality. I’m endlessly amused by Finn’s escape tricks. Now matter how he’s swaddled, by morning (and usually before) he’s thrown off his blanket and his bare feet are sticking straight out of his sleep gown. Always with the bare feet. This morning I put him in his bouncy chair while I ate breakfast. When I turned to look, he had somehow gotten his crocheted booties off. I put them back on and threw a blanket over his legs and turned back to my cereal. After just a few seconds, I glanced back at him. His booties were off and his blanket was on the floor. He was looking at me with his chin tilted slightly upward, like he was daring me to say something.

I took him upstairs to get him dressed but ended up pulling out my nice film camera so I could take B&W shots of him. I decided to embarrass him for all time and took a few naked baby shots. As I looked down to adjust the aperture, I felt a funny sensation and realized that he was peeing on me. Again, that same look. This kid owns me. He also owns the Relief Society president, the pediatrician, and Patrick, all of whom he’s crapped on at inopportune moments. At least he has a sense of humor.

4 Responses to “Free At Last (until Finn wakes up)”

  1. mom February 25, 2008 at 5:28 pm #

    He craps on people, stops traffic, give you defiant looks as he pees all over you? I like this kid more and more! Does our family expression “red-haired alien stepchild” make sense now my sweet daughter?

    Would the red crochet booties be the partners to the infamous oversize red crochet pancho you made? I distinctly remember making comments about that little project in your final days of pregnancy. In fact, I have an actual picture of you knitting frantically away on them with a slightly demented look on your face and recorded myself saying on camera “I tried to talk her out of them Finn but your mom said (and I quote) “He’ll wear them and he’ll like them!” Isn’t there an expression that begins “Payback’s …………………….!”? Welcome to motherhood Mel.

  2. jeff carrier February 25, 2008 at 7:50 pm #

    Is it weird if every time I read your blog I want to have children less.

  3. tracy m February 26, 2008 at 3:27 am #

    Ah, the ever-escaping booties. It’s a common problem, but there is actually a solution!

    Robeez. Google them, if you don’t already have some. They are little leather mocasin type shoes, and they are the ONLY shoes I found that will stay on my babies.

    I’m so glad you are getting out and exploring and having some fun with him now. When Jeffrey was born, I was stunned/amazed/appalled at how much time this one little person took. David’s first day back at work, I never ate or got a shower- and was still in my robe when he got home! What happened to my day?? I had no idea!

  4. Yvette February 27, 2008 at 2:25 am #

    Nick never kept or keeps socks on, even now. Too bad I can’t make him wear footed pajama’s like I did when he was a little gooble-fetch-it (alien). We have told him that he is part alien- his belly button is where the aliens beamed him in. Lots of love!

Leave a Reply

