A Creepy Day in Cairo

6 Apr

Today just feels eerie. Every April, dust storms called the Khamazeen, or the 50-day storm, blow in and cover the city. I’d heard about them but totally forgot until I noticed the living room was bathed in creepy yellow light today. I looked out the windows and saw a gross haze covering the view, you can hardly see the apartments nearby. Apparently last night the winds were blowing so strong that everyone was woken up and doors and windows were blown open and shut in our building. Luckily we have two things going for us: 1) the former occupant of our flat was a diva and had super-duper windows installed to keep the dirt out and 2) we’re sleep-deprived new parents and don’t wake for gale-force dust storms, only soft baby whimpers. Adding to the creepiness, after rumors of bread riots around the country, there’s a general strike on today and Patrick said Tahrir Square is filled with police in riot gear. Today is a good day to stay inside.

Here’s a picture I took earlier when the dust was just starting.

It’s worse now and very yellow, but someone is sleeping on my lap as I type and I can’t get up and go to the window.

Since I’m putting up pictures, here’s one of Finn loving on his Auntie Laura.

8 Responses to “A Creepy Day in Cairo”

  1. Nancy April 7, 2008 at 5:46 am #

    Wow! I’m kind of looking forward to experiencing the dust storms. Is that weird?

    I think I could live without the riots, though. πŸ™‚ We read about those yesterday (well, the plans for them, anyway).

    Finn is so adorable. Sometimes I just go to your Flicker site and show Rachel picture after picture. She loves babies and I figure that she might as well start to get to know Finn.

  2. Melissa April 7, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    Not weird at all, I think they’re kinda cool! Talk to me again at the end of the sandstorm season though.

    I was just telling Finn the other day about Rachel moving over here. I think they’ll be great friends.

  3. mom April 7, 2008 at 7:34 pm #

    It goes without saying that you will be keeping Finn indoors away from the yellow dust, yes?

  4. Auntie L April 7, 2008 at 9:54 pm #

    Hello little Finning! How I miss you and all six of your chins!

    And now to quell a rumor running rampant on dnile; this child is not at all photogenic. Having recently met the little man I can attest to his being at least 17.5 times more adorable in person. (Not to mention infinitely more lovable and a fair bit squishier.)

  5. Dre April 7, 2008 at 10:14 pm #

    Laura, since I, too, have met this little boy and since the Masons and DeLeons only have beautiful children, I’ll see your 17.5 times and raise you 100. And I have no doubt as to the squishiness. It’s wonderful to see that someone unrelated to him (despite your honorary aunthood) can be as smitten as his two gushing grandmothers.

  6. jeff carrier April 9, 2008 at 12:48 am #

    I guess he gets his photogenic genes from his father then.

  7. Miranda April 11, 2008 at 7:15 am #

    Patrick and Melissa, Finn is beautiful. I’ve been on a school-only internet hiatus to get through the second half of this semester (only three more teaching days left!) that started shortly after he was born. What fun to log on and see him grown to a sweet bright-eyed, dimpled elbowed little guy.

  8. Nadine April 27, 2008 at 2:55 am #

    Ahh! I have so enjoyed seeing your little man!

    I hope that he is sleeping well for you. It is crazy how quickly our brains tune to different noises. I can sleep through a lot of “background” noises, but when a baby even starts to cry, my body is immediately on alert. I just wish it were so easy to go back to “comatose”! I can only imagine how the sounds are different in Cairo, and what you’ve learned to tune out.

    Keep posting pictures! It’s so fun to see Finn growing up, even if its virtually from 1,000 of miles away.

Leave a Reply

