Taxi Drivers Make the Best Babysitters

29 Apr

Mom and Dad have been really lazy lately so I thought it might be time to take matters into my own small, clammy hands (not to brag, but I’ve recently mastered grabbing things like Mama’s hair and hitting things like Dad’s nose). AUC was on Spring Break all last week and there are a bunch of holidays this week so Dad has been home all the time. It’s been great having him around. In fact, I’ve been waking up extra early and not going back to sleep just so I can spend more time with him. Sometimes I have to yell pretty loud to get him up though.

We’ve done a lot of fun things over the break. Last week the weather was so hot, we couldn’t go outside at all. We stayed in and watched the BBC documentary Blue Planet, which Mom was really excited about (she’s a little nerdy). Dad sat me on his lap in front of the computer and taught me the fine intricacies of fantasy baseball. Seriously, hours and hours of looking at stats and numbers. Yawn. Give me soccer anyday. Both parents also spend an inordinate amount of time videotaping me. Everytime I would do something cool, they’d run and get the camera. One would video me while the other would say “come on Finn, do it again.” I would just stare at them, trying to keep a straight face. Then when they put down the camera, I’d do the cool thing again. Suckers.

This week it cooled down a lot and the weather is really beautiful. We’ve been taking lots of nice, long walks around Maadi. The trees are flowering and it’s really nice. On Saturday, we decided to go see the ancient pyramids at Sakkara and Dashur, which are a few kilometers south of Cairo. We went with Emad, the really nice taxi driver that always remembers my name. The way out there was beautiful. It was lush and green with tons of palm trees. I watched them out the window and started commenting on the characteristics of the Phoenix dactylifera, or common date palm, but once I started, Mom and Dad started cooing and babbling at me. They never understand what I’m saying, it’s like they’re speaking a different language.

The pyramids were great. We went to the Step Pyramid at Sakkara, where tour groups ignored the oldest stone monument in the world and wanted to see me instead. Yeah, I’m just that cute. Then, Emad and I hung out in the taxi while the parents went into a maze of tombs. They weren’t gone long though because Mom was nervous that I might miss them and start crying, so she hurried back, only to find that I was having a grand time learning to drive.

We went to Dashur next. This time, reassured that I was quite capable of taking care of myself and Emad, they left us to play in the shade while they climbed up the pyramid and went inside of it. They came out all wobbly and could hardly stand. Apparently there were a lot of stairs and then they had to crouch down and climb through a very long steep tunnel to get into the heart of the pyramid. They took video and I think Mom is going to try and upload it so you can see.

Anyways, that’s pretty much the news from here. I should get off the computer before Mom sees me and freaks out. As everyone learned from the Quizno’s commercials, there’s nothing creepier than a talking baby.

10 Responses to “Taxi Drivers Make the Best Babysitters”

  1. jeff carrier April 29, 2008 at 4:12 pm #

    Thank you Finn, I’m glad someone over there is willing to update on occasion. I’m glad you are having a wonderful time, and I promise, if your interested, when you come to visit, I will teach you how to juggle. Take care, little buddy.

  2. grandma April 29, 2008 at 5:10 pm #

    You are aware, Finn, that you come from a racing family? Grandpa Javy did the quarter mile in what? 6 seconds or so dear? Motorcycles, cars, boats, he’s done it all. Driving is in your blood. Your mom learned how to drive her jeep out at the ranch, as any surviving and traumatized cattle would tell you.

    I would suggest that the area around the pyramids would be a good place for you. Not too many people, just obnoxious tourists and bored camels. Make sure mom & dad videotape as the camels and tourists run for their lives. Should make for interesting tape: “Camels Gone Wild” maybe?

    P.S. Your parents already know what I think about leaving you with taxi drivers as babysitters, so I won’t comment any further on THAT subject.

  3. Dre April 29, 2008 at 7:20 pm #

    My reaction to the taxi driver/babysitter combo was the same as yours, Luisa (which was probably exactly the response Finn’s parents were hoping for). I’m planning to file for custody of that talking baby to prevent any further kidnap-defying stunts of our children. Honestly, I think the heat is frying their brains.

  4. mom April 29, 2008 at 10:53 pm #

    The heat is frying whatever brains haven’t been replaced by sand. But what do we know? We’re just grandmas. They must have gotten their common sense from the grandpas.

  5. Grandpa & Grandma April 30, 2008 at 1:16 am #

    What a wonderful story—-Finn—-Your grandmas know what they are talking about!!!May Ala be with you all.

    Love you three

    Greatgrandma & Greatgrandpa

  6. Aunt Martha, Uncle Jaime, Larissa, Jaime, Jacquelyn April 30, 2008 at 1:38 am #

    Hello, Finn, et.al.,
    We have enjoyed all of the updates. We can’t wait to see you three when you return for a visit. Finn is adorable! Take care of each other.
    Love to all,
    Great Aunt and Uncle and cousins

  7. tracy m April 30, 2008 at 5:11 am #

    Finn, driving is overrated. You need to get into Rodeo.

  8. Javi (not the brother) May 1, 2008 at 11:41 pm #

    Finn. Glad to hear you’re staying away from fantasy baseball. Just wait until your first fantasy FOOTBALL season! That’s where it’s at.

    But don’t blame your dad. I guess fantasy baseball is one way to stay interested in the season when his favorite team is the Braves. Don’t get sucked in. You’ve got some time left to decide.

    Keep fightin’ the good fight!

  9. Yvette May 4, 2008 at 4:14 am #

    I need more updates. Finn, get those fine motor skills going. Tell mom to chew those nails off, they’re getting in the way of your typing. Can’t wait to see you! By the way, driving is overrated, you’ll have to do all the errands.

  10. Yvette May 4, 2008 at 4:23 am #

    By the way, I agree with your grandmas.

    Nick will run into the mens restroom in stores, and I stand outside yelling in, “Nick, you alright?” “Nick, are you in a stall? Is the door locked? Are you OK?” as men come walking out looking at me like, well-are you going to come in?

    You know, your parents could have gone into the pyramid one at a time, or better yet, they’re computer saavy, can’t they do a real time video or something. You better start timing your crying and yelling, or you might end up with a sister sooner than you think!

Leave a Reply

