Where have all the Masons gone?

22 Jul

I really meant to be updating more this summer but I’ve been too busy wandering around Target and watching So You Think You Can Dance. Occasionally I write a post in my head but inevitably forget to jot it down. Now I find myself with the same dilemma I have everytime I start a journal and then forget to write in it for a long time- I feel like I have to recap everything that happened in the gap and inevitably get overwhelmed and don’t write. So no huge recaps. Sorry! This post is simply to break my writer’s block so I can start posting regularly again. So here’s just a few bulletpoints of what we Masons have been up to:

-Patrick spent two weeks doing research in the East. Finn decided to use those two weeks to experiment with what happens when he decides he just doesn’t want to sleep at night.

-Grandpa Javy became Captain Javy after he covered his eye with one hand and yelled “Arrrggh! ” at Finn and the boy literally wet himself laughing.

-Said boy was spoiled to pieces first one set of grandparents and now a second set. He will be insufferable when we get back to Cairo.

-Visited old friends in South Bend. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Finn took the obligatory Golden Dome picture with his ND gear on. Will post when we get our laptop hooked up to the internet.

-Saw lots of great friends far and wide. Finally met Beca’s husband. Totally loved him.

-Went with family to rollercoaster park. With all the little cousins, we were able to take turns watching and riding. Oooh I love rollercoasters!

-Had great Indian food and met two families who will be moving to Egypt in August. Loved them both. You all may know Nancy from commenting fame and her own blog, Heissotopia. I can assure you she’s just as cool in person. Rachel and Finn exchanged some hugs and kisses and are now best of friends.

To sum up, Finn is doing great, he’s sitting, rolling and trilling and we’re starting to see a mischievous personality coming out. Patrick is hammering away on his manuscript and becoming a Wii Tennis pro. I’m trying to keep Finn entertained, catching up on reading, and hatching a business scheme to enact upon repatriation to Egypt. Details to come…

4 Responses to “Where have all the Masons gone?”

  1. Nancy July 22, 2008 at 8:32 am #

    Aw, thanks! Good to know I’m cool 🙂

    It was so fun to get together with you! We feel much less stressed out about moving now that we know there will be at least two nice families in Cairo for us to be friends with. I’m sure there are more…but it’s just nice to know.

    And, seriously folks, Rachel and Finn were diabolically funny. I’ve never seen two babies get so excited over each other.

    I’m glad you’ve been having such a good vacation–and I totally know what you mean about Target. The first time I came back to the States from living abroad I just about went into shock when I went grocery shopping with my mom. I was like, “Ack! Bright, blinding lights…huge ceilings…organization…I can’t handle it!”

    It was like reverse claustrophobia!

    Anyway, enjoy the rest of your summer! We’ll see you next month!

  2. tracy m July 23, 2008 at 6:36 am #

    I’m so glad for an update- and glad you’re having fun with family.

  3. E.B. July 26, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    It’s about time you reposted! Thanks for the update and keep writing!

  4. Aprillee and Mark August 5, 2008 at 9:44 pm #

    We are so glad that your summer is going so well. We had a great month of July in California and completed our “road trip” to Colorado on Friday. So now we are settled into our apt and finding our way around Greeley. Its 82 today in August! Its great. Mark has an interview today, so very exciting and maybe we will be employed. Always a bonus. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time at home. Its great that you got to meet some people heading to Egypt. I just got a fun email from Phyllis and miss the branch already, but still. I love being home!

Leave a Reply

