No. Just…no.

28 Sep

As our friends know, both Patrick and I are very interested in and opinionated about politics. Despite this, I’ve made an effort to keep this blog politically neutral, no small feat in an election year. I just have to shake my head in disgust though and hope the end comes soon.

Sarah Palin on the Bush Doctrine – ABCNews

Palin makes rape victims pay for their own rape examinations – New York Times

Once Elected, Palin Hired Friends and Lashed Foes – New York Times

Palin’s Acceptance Speech Full of Lies – CNN

Sarah Palin’s Interview with Katie Couric – CBS News

Sarah Palin is bad for this country. Were she to be elected VP, let alone take office should anything happen to her geriatric running mate, it would be a setback for women in so many ways. She is a joke. I don’t want the first woman vice-president and possibly president to go down in history as a joke.

After getting that off my chest, I should say I feel better. But I don’t. I won’t feel better until November 5 when I can be assured that the VP is someone who has experience beyond seeing Russia from his homestate, someone who can string together a semi-coherent sentence about it, and someone who doesn’t have to hide during the campaign because he doesn’t know enough to answer reporter’s questions.

I’m done.

This week is Eid el-Fitr, the end of Ramadan. We’ll be down at Hurghada, doing some snorkeling in the Red Sea. We’ll let you know how that goes!

7 Responses to “No. Just…no.”

  1. Andrew and Nancy September 28, 2008 at 12:30 pm #

    Amen.

  2. John Turner September 29, 2008 at 6:43 pm #

    From a left-of-center media outlet:

    http://www.slate.com/blogs/blogs/xxfactor/archive/2008/09/26/debunk-a-bunk.aspx

  3. Spencer September 29, 2008 at 7:23 pm #

    Sorry to be the voice of dissent, chica linda, but I must say–as someone who is not a fan of Palin or McCain–I feel the need to point out that this election isn’t a cut and dried affair.

    Two can play the links dissing the other guy’s candidate game:

    http://www.pittsburghlive.com/x/pittsburghtrib/opinion/columnists/reiland/s_590330.html

    Do you really expect me to believe that a guy whose lack of experience rivals or even surpasses that of Palin’s, and who hasn’t even made it through his first term in the senate, and who–worst of all–was a front line player in the forces that have created the current US housing crisis is right for this country? Not so sure about that.

  4. Javi (not the brother) October 2, 2008 at 1:39 am #

    Glad to hear it, Mel. I’m volunteering on my days off (Wednesdays and Thursdays) for the Obama campaign in New Mexico.

    And Spencer. Hold on a sec. How did Barack Obama, whom as you said is not yet done with his first term in the senate, contribute to the current housing crisis?

    Ask anybody who deals in real estate, or banks, or the stock market. The Republicans in power deregulating the industry and eliminating oversight created the bubble that burst this year.

    If you don’t believe that, I can go into detail, but up until the last year and a half, it was a Republican White House and congress. THEY created this mess.

  5. Jeff October 2, 2008 at 9:50 pm #

    Mostly, I’m glad I don’t have TV right now, so I don’t have to watch three political commercials every commercial break.

    If we are going to start looking at parties instead of people, remember, the Dems have been in charge of congress for 2 years. What did they do to try and fix this problem before it came to a head? People have been talking about how bad sub-prime and other “creative” mortgages since at least 2001 (when I bought my first house and started paying attention) and I haven’t seen anyone in Washington try anything real until the last little while. There are still enough Reps in congress that still care about fiscal responsibility that they should have been able to do something.

    There is enough blame to go around that anyone waving a party banner right now should be ashamed of themselves.

    We need a Leader, not a Partisan. Unfortunately, I see too many of the latter and not much of the former.

  6. chad October 13, 2008 at 5:51 am #

    Yes, but SNL won’t be nearly as good for the next 4 years without Tina Fey. Come on. Where are your priorities? I’m a little sad that Letterman’s “great moments in presidential speeches” bit is coming to an end. Hopefully some stupid pet tricks will fill the void.

  7. Cody October 15, 2008 at 9:40 pm #

    I guess I need to find a new source for fair and balanced Mason Family news.

Leave a Reply

