LDS Chapel in Cairo

8 Dec

If you’re LDS and want to find the church in Egypt while you’re visiting, it’s nearly impossible. We’re not listed on the church website and it takes some fine googling skills to find any kind of address. So I’m going to make it easy and hope that any who googles will come right to our page. The LDS (mormon) church building is Villa #21, Road 17 in Maadi. Taxis who know Maadi should have no trouble finding it and it’s one of the few buildings with a building number displayed outside. Services are on Fridays from 9:30-12:30. Hope this helps people!

35 Responses to “LDS Chapel in Cairo”

  1. Sam Napia January 10, 2009 at 8:09 pm #

    Hi Melissa, we are LDS members from New Zealand. Are we able to email you directly?

  2. Melissa DM January 11, 2009 at 5:57 pm #

    yep, you can reach me at tangerinend on gmail

    • Dennis January 28, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

      Melissa Hi
      May move to Egypt at the end of the year.
      Where do you find cheap apartments.
      Many Thanks Dennis

      • Melissa DM January 28, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

        Hi Dennis,

        Are you affiliated with any company? Most expats are either US govt, university, or oil and those organizations help you find a place. If you’re moving there independently it can get a little tricky. You really can’t find a place from here as you’ll want to see and negotiate. Send me an e-mail and I can point you to a few people who can help you on the ground there.

  3. Mervin Buenaventura March 21, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    Hi! I’m a nurse in Egypt and have been looking for the church. You have no idea how happy I am to find your article. Thank you so very much!

    Mervin

  4. Mervin Buenaventura March 21, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

    Hi! I’m a nurse in Egypt and have been looking for the church here. You have no idea how happy I am to have found your article. Thank you so very much!

    Mervin

  5. harriet June 30, 2009 at 10:03 am #

    Hi my son Raphael 20 is coming to do an Arabic course in Cairo 5 July to 6 Aug. I am seeking an Arabic family preferably LDS where he might stay, paying of course.
    The language institute is in Mahmoud Azmi St in the centre of Cairo so he needs to be able to get there easily.
    Any ideas?

    Thx Harriet

  6. Lewis Horan October 22, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    Hi there to all concerned, I am leaving this message in hope that I may be able to help a friend of mine who lives ruffly about !/2 hr from the chaple there in Maadi. My friends name is Fouad, & I have been chatting over the internet for nearly well almost a year now & because im not shy to share with anyone that I am a LDS member Fouad over the last 6 mounths has expressed fruitful desier to follow in my footsteps and become a member him self, so with this in mind with confliting information I have recived over the past few mounths about Egytian citerzes not being allowed to be baptised ect I with to find out more info if this is true and if my friend Fouad mite be able to baptised for this is what he wants and asks me every time we chat ect. So can anyone please let me know ASAP to my email address (perthboy89@hotmail.com) with any info at all.

    Kind Regards
    Bro Lewis Horan – WERRIBEE WARD
    MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA WYNDHAM STAKE

  7. Tamara Bond January 19, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Can anyone help? I am an LDS member in Hong Kong. A student intern of mine is currently stranded in Cairo due to the floods with no-where to stay and no money. She is a lovely girl, Wellesley grad and would just need a place until the flights to Israel are up and running again. Can anyone make a suggestion. Thanks so much.

  8. Melissa DM January 19, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    Hi Tamara,

    I forwarded your message to the branch president in Cairo and attached you to it. If you could send them a way to contact her, I know the branch will help out.

    • walid June 13, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

      My brothers, I hope that I can communicate with the brothers officials of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Egypt, and the Lord bless you, brother Walid – Yemen, Email (walidyamani@yahoo.com)

  9. Brent February 2, 2010 at 4:06 am #

    Thank you for posting instructions on how to attend church in Cairo. I will be in Cairo and try to attend on Friday, 12 February 2010.

    Thanks,

    Brent Law
    Madison, Alabama

  10. Tanya April 8, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    Hey guys, u r great. thanks a lot for information about our branch there. i hope one day i’ll be able to visit it. unfortunately, i’m working in Hurghada and miss my church(((. anyway, if u will travel anyhow to Hurghada, i’ll be glad to meet with u!

  11. Wim/Loussanna April 27, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    We are verrry happy to find this, and will check it out on friday!
    thanks al lot!

  12. Jake May 12, 2010 at 2:30 am #

    Oh wow! I had no idea the Church had a presence in Cairo! I am so excited because I am planning on moving there soon to do a semester of intensive Arabic courses, and then have my wife and 2 toddlers move there too for another year or so. I was planning on blessing my own sacrament in my apartment, so this is absolutely fantastic!
    I am also interested in finding a nice, safe place to rent for about 6 months. I am 28, temple marriage, basic Arabic speaking. Can anyone point me in the right direction for renting an apartment or even a shared apartment (rent a room)?
    Are church services in Arabic or English?
    Thank you!!!

    Jake Harris
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA

  13. Brett August 12, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Hi, My wife and I are planning to go to Cairo for a couple of days (Aug 15th – 17). If you’re LDS and want to get together and see some sights with us please email me and let me know.

  14. Brett August 12, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    Reply to this one and it will notify me.

    Thanks!

    • Melissa August 12, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

      Hi Brett,

      We’re not in Cairo anymore but have a great time!

  15. Joshua Smith September 4, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    Eric Knapp,
    Trust this get through to you. Your email did not come through and hoping this reaches you so you can resend. We spoke on the phone today and I left my email address — jsmith@dslextreme.com or Joshua.Smith @globalartistagency.net. Looking forward to getting your email and we can catch-up and seeing you real soon. Sorry I missed you when in Cairo.
    Joshua..

  16. david machio December 18, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    hi i just stumbled on this place as i googled lds church in egypt. am coming to egypt probably this saturday.am an LDS member in the nairobi kenya stake.i will be there for 5 weeks.i will be studying at egypt aviation academy in a place called embaba.is it far from villa#21 road 17 in maadi?am excited to learn that there is a branch there and would definately like to attend church on worship days.i would be most grateful for any contacts.
    rgds machio

  17. Rev Solomon July 17, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Dear Brethren,
    Kindly lead me to any good christian businessman in Cairo who would like to welcome our company in Egypt.
    We are a South Korea Christian manufacturing company that would like to come to Cairo.
    We need a christian to work with. Thanks and God bless you
    Rev Solomon

  18. Marianne Berrett December 8, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Melissa, I am an old gal presently teaching in Cairo. Is your meeting information still up to date?

  19. Lisa Marie Adair April 28, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    It was revieled to me that I would be going over on a mission there, could i recieve more info on your place of origain as far as the missions go. What is needed ect. i was told to prep, so i gave all my worldly possessions away and living to save every penny for the trip. I want everyone, to know that i too, am a convert as they will be and I TESTIFY IN THE NAME OF JESUS CHRIST THAT THIS CHURCH IS THE TRUE CHURCH OF OUR LIVING GOD! I am 45 yr. old retired army and now, in the country here at home living in a tent ruffing it, being at peace with our lord as he directs me to his willbe done. I want to dedicate the rest of my life to mission work and do nothing else but work for the Church of Christ of laterday saints. I’m taking a vow of Chasity sunday and plan to marrie the Church in my heart, mind and soul. Since I become a member my life has changed and reconstructed it’s self and will always belong to our living God. I have many live to touch and I am more than ready to serve!!!!! I’m getting in shap for the worst. I am a born leader and type A personality.

    • Lisa Marie Adair April 28, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

      I also, would like to take this time to conclude, that I will go to any length to please the Lord Jesus Chirst for the rest of my day here on earth. I have nothing left to live for! Sister Lisa Marie Adair .

      • Lisa Marie Adair April 28, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

        : ) I have a choice, I want to live for nothing else. Sister Lisa Marie Adair

      • Lisa Marie Adair February 19, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

        It’s not I have nothing else to live for… I didn’t mean it such a way as that… LDS, It’s the only thing I want to dedicate my life to….. Missions, I am compelled this way…

  20. Kaylee February 19, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    I actually was initially searching for creative concepts for my own website and stumbled upon ur blog,
    β€œLDS Chapel in Cairo « State of d’Nile”, do you care if I really implement a number of your concepts? Many thanks ,Retha

  21. b kennedy February 20, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    I hope you are not for real. Why would you post a way to find LDS services where ANYBODY could find it. I do not believe you are well received in Egypt…especially now.

    • Michael Bedwany April 18, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

      i would like to contact

      • Michael Bedwany April 18, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

        but i dont have any thing to use phone number or address or your facebook

  22. walid June 13, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    My brothers, I hope that I can communicate with the brothers officials of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Egypt, and the Lord bless you, brother Walid – Yemen, Email (walidyamani@yahoo.com)

  23. tjensen1986 May 6, 2014 at 5:12 pm #

    Are you still in Egypt? If so, are church services still being held? Also, I was wondering if you could help me find a member out there who may be willing to help me, a graduate student studying Arabic, practice speaking Arabic through Skype or something like that.

  24. Monica Pinzon May 22, 2014 at 10:56 pm #

    Hi, I want to know if there is a way to send missionaries or members of the Church to visit a friend who lives in Egypt. Please, if you can help me, i will appreciate it.

  25. Phil Medford November 1, 2014 at 9:24 am #

    I have a friend in Cairo, Egypt with two children and through many texts have come to realize that not only are they quite spiritual,but are desperately in need. Her name is Sophia Jacoboo, then there is Jane and Serah. I was in hopes that they could be visited by the missionairies, I’m sure with great results.

  26. Ogunlusi Rebecca March 29, 2015 at 4:25 am #

    Am very happy to see this post,am member of LDS nigeria.pls am new in cario but i dont kw maadi,could someone pls help me out dis is my no 01158127337.thanks

Comments are closed.

