And now for something completely different…

26 Aug

…a post!

Yeah, yeah, I know. I won’t insult you by making up excuses to cover the fact that I’m lazy and I won’t bore you with a re-cap of everything we’ve been up to lately.

So onto the big news: we’re having another baby!!!

Yay!!! We’d decided a while back that we were ready for another adventure and were thrilled to find out this summer that we had one on the way. We’re pretty amazed and just feel very very blessed to be able to expand our family again.

So we’re just starting the second trimester. The due date is technically March 1st, but, as I’ve lost all faith in due dates, when people ask I say the baby is due in early springish. It’s a good time, I think. It’ll be at that point at the end of winter in South Bend where the snow is gray and ugly and everyone wishes they lived somewhere else. But we’ll have our little bright spot at home and soon after the daffodils will start coming up and spring will be here.

Finn’s world is going to be turned upside down. He’s such an easy-going kid though, that I think he’ll be a great big brother. He’s pretty good with other kids around here, even babies.

We won’t find out the sex of the baby until probably early October. Patrick is convinced it’s a girl. I think it’s wishful thinking, but we’ll see. With Finn’s pregnancy, I felt zero symptoms, no sickness or anything. This one is different. I’m queasy a lot and I can’t stand meat. Which is a problem for me, since I think vegetables are pure evil. So I’ve been having lots of waffles.

So that’s our exciting news. It’s always an adventure in the Mason family!

6 Responses to “And now for something completely different…”

  1. aprillee August 26, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    I was so excited to see what you were up to and even more excited when I read the actual post! What super great news! Congratulations! We hope you are enjoying South Bend, we love Colorado.

  2. Lydia August 28, 2009 at 4:20 am #

    Yay! I thought Mairyn would be a boy b/c her pregnancy was so different from Eliza. Eliza’s was pretty easy; Mairyn’s I lost 10 lbs the first trimester from barfing all the time. Dramamine helps some people, that’s safe w/pregnancy, and also if you take Vit B (or your prenatal) and a Unisom tablet at bedtime. Congrats!!

  3. Nancy August 28, 2009 at 9:07 pm #

    That is so exciting! Yup. That just about sums it up. 🙂 All I can think of to say is “Oh, that’s so exciting!”

    Can we say pregnancy brain?

  4. Robann September 5, 2009 at 5:06 pm #

    Woo-hoo!!! Our hearts are full of joy for you, and the world needs more redheads, especially in the South Bend Ward!!

  5. Laila September 20, 2009 at 5:23 am #

    Congratulations!!!

  6. Dorothy October 2, 2009 at 10:32 pm #

    Congratulations you three. We wish you all the best in the world. We miss you in Cairo, but when the time to leave comes, you know it. Eric still is deciding when the time is right.

Leave a Reply

