The Verdict is In…

9 Oct

So in my last post I mentioned that as soon as we found out whether we were having a boy or a girl, I’d be at the yarn shop picking colors. Well folks, here is the winner….

It's a girl!

It's a girl!

and a boy!

and a boy!

We are having twins.

We. are. having. twins.

Excuse me for a minute while I go laugh/cry some more.

As mentioned, I badgered the hospital into getting us in this morning rather than next week because, well, I’m impatient like that. We got there and they had still managed to mix up our appointment so we waited for an hour while Finn ran around the vending machines and automatic doors with a huge grin on his face. Finally, they called us back and got me all set up. We were joking around with the technician when she put that freezing cold thing on my tummy and a picture popped up immediately. She cut off mid sentence when I gasped and said “is that…?!!” My entire body froze in what was probably the most shocked moment of my life.

“Is this your first ultrasound?” she asked, slightly alarmed. We nodded.

“Well, congratulations, you’re having twins!”

I had seen them immediately, two little bodies curled up like yin and yang. We were stunned. Never ever had the possibility of twins even crossed our minds. To our knowledge there were no twins on either side of the family. I started laughing hysterically as tears streamed down my face. I kept going from panic to disbelief to panic. I think Patrick’s jaw was on the floor for about five minutes.

She spent the next half hour pinpointing all the various movable parts on Baby A and Baby B as she labeled them. Baby A is on my right side, definitely a boy, very cooperative and peaceful. Baby B is on the left, most likely a girl, and was kicking and flipping her little self over as we watched. She seemed to be attempting to kick Baby A in the head but luckily they’re fraternal twins, in their own seperate little worlds, and couldn’t reach each other.  As she started measuring femur length and such, thoughts raced through my head. “I can’t do this!” “Poor Finn, when will we have time for him?” “Thank goodness we’re not in Egypt anymore!” “I can’t do this!!” “I thought the second time around would be easier!!” “I’m glad they’re not identical, that’s a little creepy and I wouldn’t be able to tell them apart!” “holycrapholycrapholycrap!” “wow, I always thought twins would be fun!””I don’t know anything about twins, except one is usually evil.” “I need to go to the library and get a book!” “No matching outfits!” “Oh my gosh, there’s no way I can handle this!”

Finn started flipping out at some point so Patrick was wandering the halls with him in a dazed stupor while we finished up the ultrasound. We got some nice pictures that I’ll scan and put up soon. Everything looks great, the babies are right where they’re supposed to be in terms of size and are twenty weeks along.

We alternately laughed and then cried. And then laughed. And then cried. Pretty much the rest of the day. Which, let me tell you, was quite a day.

Around noon, we were supposed to head to Milwaukee for the weekend, where Patrick was attending a conference. Finn woke up with a terrible cough and seemed to be getting worse though, so I took him straight to the Dr’s office after our ultrasound. Luckily, it wasn’t anything terrible, but still required antibiotics. And on top of that, he got a flu shot. So he was in complete meltdown mode after that. I got him home and rushed around trying to get us all packed, clothes, snacks, toys, while he followed me and screamed. It was stressful. Patrick came home and between the two of us, we managed to get out the door with almost everything by 2:30.

We swung by the library to pick up a couple of books, then headed out to store to pick up Finn’s prescriptions. Halfway there I realized I didn’t have my cell phone. Panic, search, turn around and drive home. I couldn’t find it there either so we headed back out. The drugs took forever to fill and by the time we hit the toll road, it was around 4 and pouring rain. We were feeling like everything that could go wrong for our trip was.

On the road, we talked a bit about this upcoming adventure. I told Patrick how for the last week I’ve felt so confident about the upcoming baby. I’d been spending time with a friend’s newborn and really felt comfortable and completely able. That, apparently, was where I went wrong.

We started joking about how we had just gotten away from the craziness of Egypt and having a baby crawling around and here we were. Out of d’Nile and into…denial. Out of the chaos and into the chaos. Out of the place of needy people who yell at you and…you get the picture.

At some point before we got to the Indiana border, Finn started screaming again and after taking a look at him, we decided it would be wiser for me to stay home and take care of him here and Patrick to go on to the conference. We turned right around and drove home again, where we unloaded and unpacked, then repacked while Finn whimpered pathetically. Finally, at 6:30, Patrick was off again, a long drive to Wisconsin ahead of him. After a warm bath and force-feeding of medicine, Finn went down without a fight.

Now I’m surrounded by books about having twins and not feeling like I’m up to tackling them yet. I opened the first one and it said “Congratulations, you’re having twins!” I immediately put it back down.

It seems surreal. I don’t know when it’ll stop feeling like fiction in my head. I’m sure I’ll wake up in the morning and think “was that a dream?” The more the shock wears off, the more thrilled we are. It’s going to be really really really hard, but so much fun too. I guess it won’t be boring around these parts for very much longer.

17 Responses to “The Verdict is In…”

  1. Nany October 9, 2009 at 2:33 am #

    Holy Cow your having two~ Hooray` and I am sorry 🙂 Cook them as long as possible. you and patrick will do amazing

  2. Lydia October 9, 2009 at 2:38 am #

    Oh. My. Gosh.

    Surreal is putting it lightly.

    Oh. My. Gosh.

    I’m shocked and I’m not even the one pregnant. I don’t know what I’d do!! Fate has a way of kicking you swiftly in the rear.

    Oh. My. Gosh. again.

    I don’t think I’m going to ever say, “Just one more.” For fear of, wow. Congratulations, you fertile woman!!

  3. aprillee October 9, 2009 at 2:51 am #

    What exciting news, oh the fun you will have.
    Its great that you have one of each too. Hope you keep feeling well and enjoying the moment oh and that Finn feels better too.

  4. Sara October 9, 2009 at 3:06 am #

    Wow! How exciting! Congratulations! I wonder how many more sentences I can end with exclamation points!

    One more: So happy for you!

  5. Mom October 9, 2009 at 3:50 am #

    Twins do run in the family. On your dad’s maternal side of family and a few on my dad’s maternal side, from the redheaded branch of the family. Just hadn’t shown up in your generation yet. Did.we.forget.to.mention.that?Oops.Oops.

  6. Liz October 9, 2009 at 4:27 am #

    HOLY. CRAP. And what’s crazy is that you aren’t the first person I’ve known recently to have twins without any family history and, frankly, it’s FREAKING ME OUT. Congratulations, but WOW! That is NUTS.

    Also, I’m really glad to hear that you aren’t planning matchy boy/girl outfits. I consider most of those to be an underreported form of child abuse.

    (ps this is Liz from church, you know, the one who stalks you… and I promise this isn’t how I knew all of those quiz answers… aaaand I’ll stop now because I’m sounding more and more creepy)

  7. Claudia De Leon Dimas October 9, 2009 at 4:51 am #

    Love it!!! So do you still want to do this at home??

  8. Larissa Kindred October 9, 2009 at 5:15 am #

    I am in shock!!!!! (Not as much shock as you obviously!) I had to reread to make sure it wasn’t a joke! When we filled out our adoption papers we had to decide if we’d take twin and Jeff said he thinks it would be “fun”. My response was, “Fun for who???” Okay, you have GOT to do matching outfits!! Congratulations!!!! Hey, at least one of them is a girl, right?!

  9. emily d October 9, 2009 at 7:53 am #

    Melissa, I am

    a. so happy i found your blog.
    b. maybe just crying a little.
    c. so happy for your double happiness and double sweetness.

    d. i love love you.

  10. Nancy October 9, 2009 at 8:48 am #

    Oh, my goodness! Oh, my goodness! (Twice, ‘cuz you know…twins)! Tell Patrick and his “potent sperm” congratulations (do you remember when you guys told us that story? If not…sorry). And WOW!

    Now I have to go finish reading the rest of the post!

  11. Nancy October 9, 2009 at 8:51 am #

    Wow. Again. I’d be freaking out, too. I’m SOOO glad we’re only having one this time around. If I was having TWO in Egypt…I’d…I don’t even know what I’d do.

    Anyway, I’m SOOO excited for you guys. And a little overwhelmed for you, too.

    Does it help that I’m overwhelmed for you?

  12. Dorothy October 10, 2009 at 8:39 am #

    I always knew the Masons were over achievers.

    Congratulations twice!!!!!!

  13. Jo October 16, 2009 at 5:24 am #

    Cousin Jo here, on the Mason side of the family, sent here by Grandma/Aunt LeAnn, and I’m here to say that you most definitely can do this thing! I speak from experience, as a single mom of fraternal g/g twins. I am more than happy to share my thoughts, my tips, and whatever else I can provide as you face this exciting, but yes, daunting reality. I won’t sugar-coat it: yes, it definitely can be hard. But it is also more fun than you can imagine. Watching the bond that grows between your pair … well … let’s just say that I often find myself feeling a little sorry for singletons.

    Fortunately, you’ll have … what? 20 weeks or so? to figure it all out, but in the mean time, please feel free to use me as a resource. Aunt LeAnn knows where to find me!

    But mostly, CONGRATULATIONS! Now, when people ask if you’re having a girl or a boy, you can just answer “yes”.

    Cousin Jo, who has managed to keep her two alive and thriving for durn near 7 years now. 🙂

  14. Jo October 16, 2009 at 5:28 am #

    P.S. No disrespect to Patrick’s potent sperm, but it’s Melissa’s uber-fertility that made those two. Just sayin’. 🙂

    P.P.S. I totally agree on the matching outfits.

  15. Bridget October 27, 2009 at 2:02 am #

    Hi. You don’t know me, though it seems I can’t get away from you. I know Nancy and I know Liz, from different contexts, and I’ve also read BCC for a few years, so there’s that angle, too.

    Anyway, my husband is thinking about applying to an Associate Professor position at AUC and I was wondering if there was any dirt you could give us on that situation (I gather that was what your husband was doing there). If you recover from the shock of finding out you’re having twins, I would love to hear from you via email, bridget dot palmer at gmail dot com.

    Thanks and congratulations!! Sorry to clog up your comments with this but I couldn’t find an email address for you anywhere and I don’t want to bother new mom Nancy for it.

  16. Lisa November 20, 2009 at 8:21 am #

    I’m a good friend of Matt and Stacie’s and followed your blog while you were in Egypt. I haven’t read it lately but was with Stacie tonight and she told me about your twins!! How amazing and what a shock to find out at 20 weeks. We have boy/girl twins but found at 9 weeks. Having twins is the greatest thing but also hard at times. You will love those babies so much. if you ever need anything – ideas/advice on twins just ask. Have fun!!!
    PS I did a few coordinating outfits when they little and it was fun.

Leave a Reply

