El Mariachi

3 Nov

What is Halloween if not the perfect opportunity to force your children to look ridiculous for your own amusement? Case in point.

So this year I wavered for a while on what Finn’s costume was going to be. I was pretty proud of last years and wanted something equally unique. My first idea was Max from Where the Wild Things Are but Patrick pointed out that it might be a popular idea. It turns out it wasn’t, because there are no commercially produced Max costumes, so only kids of amazingly talented mamas were Max. Check out this amazing one by a friend in our ward.

So I moved on the leprechaun idea. With his red curls and charm, Finn would be the most adorable Notre Dame mascot ever. Plus we could take him to campus on game days and show him off. When it came time to make the costume though, I just let it get way too late and then got intimidated by having to sew a vest and jacket. Maybe next year. We scrambled and settled on aging rock star (we had just seen It Might Get Loud and were inspired by Jimmy Page’s rambling coolness). But then while in Texas, inspiration hit and the perfect costume hit us: mariachi!

My mom had given us a beautiful mariachi hat when we moved up here that we hung on Finn’s wall. It was just a matter of making the outfit and as soon as I mentioned the idea to my mom, she was all over. Every year her school does a May program where many of the classes learn and perform various Mexican folk dances, so she was the pro. We considered hitting Mexico for a real outfit but scrapped the idea since we weren’t feeling up to being kidnapped and held for ransom.

Instead we found black pants and a black t-shirt at Voldermart. I cut the shirt and sewed back flaps to make it jacket-like. Mom embroidered and rick-racked like a champion. All told, it probably only took us a few hours and less than $15.

When Finn put on his costume on Halloween, I almost cried, I was so happy with him. He was pretty angry, especially when I tried to put the hat on him. We visited some friends and then came back to our street for trick-or-treating. We’d been warned that our neighborhood got especially busy and it was no lie. It wasn’t quite on the level of the truckloads of kids that would drive in from Mexico and drop off in my parents neighborhood every few hours, but still busy.

IMG_3705IMG_3710

Finn was apprehensive at first, but then he realized that he 1) got to ring doorbells and 2) people would give him things. After just one house, he was completely sold and started cutting across yards to get to the doors more quickly. We only went halfway down our street, since Finn legs are short and he doesn’t like candy anyway. It was a nice chance to meet some of our neighbors.

IMG_3729IMG_3730IMG_3734IMG_3739

While out, we ran across a Hispanic family who just died when they saw Finn. They were laughing and taking pictures with him. They thought he was the cutest thing ever and kept making their daughters hug him.

We retired to our house and Finn found that he enjoyed putting candy in other kids’ buckets. We sat out there until Finn was shivering and still he refused to go inside. Just too much excitement. I kept trying to wrap him in a fleece blanket but he insisted his hands be free. When there was a lull, he would be sitting there with one arm outstretched, candy in his hand, looking side to side frantically for someone to give it to. Sweet kid.

All in all, a great time. Plus after dumping the undesirable candy Finn got back into other kids’ buckets, we got our own little stash of free candy to munch on. I’m liking this trick or treating thing.

3 Responses to “El Mariachi”

  1. Grandma LeAnn November 3, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    I see that Bunny went trick-or-treating, too. How nice of Finn to share. That costume is so darned cute! Well done, Mom!

  2. Javi (not the brother) November 6, 2009 at 1:40 am #

    I remember wearing the outift that Finn is wearing in 2nd grade for that OLS dance.

  3. Jeff Carrier November 9, 2009 at 7:56 am #

    Hey, I think I know something that will help Finn. I struggled for years with wanting blankets, but not being able to have my hands free. That’s when I found out about the Snuggie! It’s changed my life. I can easy have a blanket, but have my hands free to use the remote, or read a book. How amazing is that? Check it out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xZp-GLMMJ0

Leave a Reply

