Snapshots from Texas

16 Dec

As you can see, that whole blogpost-a-day thing went REALLY well for me. Yeah, so…

Maybe mini-posts suit me better.

In October, Finn and I traveled to Texas for a couple weeks so Finn could have some quality grandparent time and I could go to Jesse’s wedding reception.

Needless to say, Finn totally owns grandpa and grandma. Meanwhile, I took off to Houston for the weekend with Beca and her college roomie Ann, who was a blast. Before leaving McAllen, we got Zarape to go (18 tacos consumed between us) so that when our car rolled up with that special taco smell, Houston would know the Valley people had arrived.

We stayed at a hipster hotel that had freaky restrooms. The toilet stall was pitch black except for one bright spotlight shining right on your face. I think it’s Kohler’s KGB model. Seriously, talk about stage fright.

We had an ambitious plan to visit a million museums but I think we were just trying to make ourselves sound cultured. After two stops, we sat outside the Menil gift shop eating a pancake out of Beca’s purse and decided to spend the afternoon shopping instead.

We were an hour late for the two hour reception due to our stubborn insistence on arguing with our GPS. Nevertheless, tons of fun at the reception, especially seeing friends I hadn’t seen in years. We had a nice time catching up and then hanging out afterwards. I’m still waiting for other people to send me pictures, so I have nothing to show you.

Instead, I will share this gem with you, seen at the Menil Collection,  titled Cheese with Hair.

Cheese. With. Hair.

When we got back, the season had started changing so we immediately started cramming in the fall activities, like teaching Finn how to furtively steal pumpkins. More on that later…

2 Responses to “Snapshots from Texas”

  1. Lydia December 16, 2009 at 7:11 pm #

    Oh my, Finn looks more and more like a little boy and not a baby! When do we get to see pics of you??

  2. mom December 19, 2009 at 4:13 am #

    I’m so glad you took a picture of my favorite glass vase! Didn’t Finn wack it with that pole and break it 2 secs. after you took the pic? Ahhhh the memories I’m storing up!

Leave a Reply

