Twin Haikus

7 Jan

So all of the sudden we find ourselves 32 weeks into this pregnancy with the light at the end of the tunnel starting to become visible. Except that light? You know how the old joke goes that that light is actually the train coming straight at you? Yeah.

Most twins come between 34 and 37 weeks, as opposed to singleton babies who are full term at 40 weeks. So we won’t be having the same problem as we did with a certain child who refused to come.

What that means is that everything suddenly feels like it’s moving very fast. Our OB told us at the last appointment that he’d be happy if we made it four more weeks. FOUR MORE WEEKS! That’s only four more weekends! It’s been a few days since he said that and I found myself thinking this morning “it’s already Thursday! What have I done? I’ve squandered half a week!”

Of course we could go longer than four weeks, so really I shouldn’t panic. Basically our goal is to make it to Feburary 1st, at which point the twins shouldn’t have to do any hard time in the NICU, inshallah. By the week of Valentine’s Day, our OB will be antsy to induce. We’d like to avoid induction and let these babies come when they’re good and ready, but with all the complications that could come with twinkies, we’re just going to wait and see.

So Baby Boy and Lucia are currently both head down, kinda hugging, although I occaisionally feel Lucia reach out and play with my hip bone. They’re evenly matched, at about 3.5 lbs each, according to our last ultrasound. Boy is still the crazy active one.

I’m constantly exhausted but still perky. Finn is a great kid and has been letting me get lots of rest. While he was coloring the other day, I sat down with the computer and started composing haikus. For you viewing pleasure:

“Umm, Mrs. Mason

Is this your first ultrasound?”

“Yes…oh holy crap.”

Midwives don’t do twins

OBs see you for five minutes

Doc, this system sucks.

Kick, kick, jab, jab, poke

Just saying hello, Mama.

Watch me do a flip.

Dad wants to scar you.

Ebony and Ivory:

the names he suggests.

I’m sorry, Patrick

to shoot down your boy name, but

Linus is vetoed.

Toss and turn, all night.

Body pillow, you complete me.

I’ll love you always.

My sweet little twins,

stay in ’till February.

3 under 2? Ahh!

Laying on the floor,

Finn points up, saying “babies!”

Freaking Mama out.

People are asking

my New Year’s Resolution.

Simply: survival.

Feel free to add your own.

13 Responses to “Twin Haikus”

  1. Nancy January 7, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Patrick, the “old man,”
    Had to catch up with his peers
    in number of kids.

    You’re bearing the brunt.
    So how does he get off, then,
    Suggesting “Linus?”

    You have four weekends
    To come up with a boy’s name.
    Can’t wait to hear it.

    Melissa Mason,
    If anyone can do this,
    It’s you: survivor!

    PS:

    When you left Egypt
    You left a body pillow,
    my heaven. Thank you.

  2. Larissa January 7, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Love the haikus! So I love the name Linus, but Jeff is sure that any child named that would be a bed-wetter. 🙂

  3. Jillian January 7, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    For some reason, it hadn’t dawned on me until this post that Payge and Finn are the same age. Once I clued in, I felt an overwhelming urge to hug you for your bravery (which I probably won’t do, because I’m usually the type to stand there with my hands in my pockets).

    You’ll do a great job. Did you end up with a good OB?

  4. Melissa DM January 8, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    Great haikus, Nancy!!

    Larissa, that sums up my feelings perfectly.

    Jillian, yep, we’re happy with him.

  5. Patrick January 8, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    For the record, Linus is a perfectly awesome name. Not only is it hip, but it comes with major spiritual cred: Linus was the first successor to Peter as the Bishop of Rome, and Linus of Charlie Brown fame gave perhaps the greatest reading of the Christmas story in history.

    Although yes, he probably would be a bed-wetter, because so many people laughed at his name while still in the womb. I guess we’ll just have to settle for Ivory.

  6. Nancy January 9, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    Andrew still votes for Shredder.

    That is NOT a bed-wetting name.

  7. Javi (not the brother) January 10, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    For the baby boy,
    just look at your family.
    “Javi” would be great!

    You could stay different.
    Sports and quirkiness go great
    with the name Chipper.

  8. mom January 10, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Will you take the advice of an experienced elementary school teacher? DO NOT NAME YOUR BOY CHILD LINUS! (Especially if he has red hair and freckles, unless you want to spend time in school asking why your son is getting bullied)

    How about Lucas or Luke? It means light or illumination just as the female name Lucia does.

  9. Melissa DM January 10, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    No matchy matchy names.

    I like Shredder.

  10. mom January 10, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    Shredder’s good. Means to tear to pieces any guy who dares to look at my sister Lucia, espcially guys named Linus.

  11. Grandma LeAnn January 11, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    I’m hurt that you haven’t given more consideration to my suggestions for your children’s names:
    Finn, Quinn, and Twin
    Love,
    1/2 of au pair of grandmas

    P.S I kind of like Shredder, too. But I don’t want to have to explain it when I announce their births to our ward.

  12. Javi (not the brother) January 12, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    I’m with your Mom. Luke and Leia. Done!

  13. Melissa DM January 12, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    sigh.

Leave a Reply

