Dispatches from my bed

2 Feb

My body is a ticking time bomb.

Which I guess is true at any point this late in pregnancy, but apparently mine is the kind of bomb that the SWAT team is sent in for. I didn’t know this until yesterday. While I assumed my mind and body were working together, it turns out my body was quietly plotting and planning. My mind feels betrayed, unaware that while it was practicing relaxation techniques and visualization, my body was discreetly photocopying secret documents and passing them on to the Russians.

We had our ultrasound and OB appointment yesterday. The ultrasound went pretty well, measurements were great. I was concerned about their weight, my goal was to get them over 6 lbs before they were born. One is around 6 1/2 and the other is slightly over that. Yay!! These are real size babies. I’m very happy about that. Baby A is ready to go, all of the sudden having turned into the obedient one. Baby B (Lucia) however, has moved way up high, her head bumping into my ribs, her butt down, her fingers clutching tight, as she says “no no no, I will NOT get into position”.

Nevertheless, I was feeling pretty good, sure the Dr. would say “great job, looks good, we’ll see you in a week.” Unfortunately, Lucia’s position plus the babies’ sizes plus other factors means despite our efforts to completely avoid this option, we are now looking at a c-section.

Every day that the babies stay inside increases the chance that they’ll be born without breathing problems and be able to come home with us. So I’ve been put on bed rest for the duration of the week. We have another appointment on Friday and if things have progressed, we’ll be heading straight to the hospital. If not, then it’s back in bed for the weekend and another check/possible c-section on Monday. Of course, labor could start by itself at any point, which I’m now terrified of, because it would be very quick and emergency-like.

So the date is still up in the air for the contest.

Its been an emotional rollercoaster since we left the Dr’s office yesterday, but I’m feeling better today and ultimately am just glad that the babies are healthy. I’m also crazy grateful for our amazing friends here who have stepped up to help out. I’ll probably be posting here quite often, as I’m now stuck in bed desperately trying not to go out of my mind.

4 Responses to “Dispatches from my bed”

  1. Liz February 2, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    Well that stinks! I’m so sorry that you’re on bedrest and that Lucia seems intent on staying breech. That said, I’m very grateful for the technology and skill that makes a cesarean a relatively safe delivery. If you need company, give me a call – I’d be happy to hang out or scrub your toilet or whatever you need!

  2. Lydia February 3, 2010 at 4:10 am #

    Oh boy. I was on bed rest for 3 weeks with Mairyn and 4 with Grant. Not fun stuff. The only thing to do is have plenty of books & movies at hand. And a helper. Do you have a helper? I hope you do . . keep incubating those babes!

  3. mom February 3, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    One helper……coming up!

  4. Lisa Adams February 3, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    A C-section really isn’t all that bad. I had one with my twins and after 2 weeks felt great. I had one scheduled for 38 weeks but at my 37 week check I was dilated to 6+ and went directly to the hospital (across the street) and within about 45 minutes had 2 beautiful new babies! Just remember to keep ice on the incision all the time. And the nurses will take great care of you.

Leave a Reply

