Notes From the Trenches

23 Feb

Two weeks later and we’re all still alive! Sometimes it feels like we’re just hanging by a thread, but here we are. I’m trying to update frequently, but posts like this take several days to compose, since I’m constantly being interrupted by the myriad of needy small people around me. Here’s an update on what’s been going on around here.

I feel like I should put up a banner saying “I lost 30 lbs in 2 weeks, ask me how!” Seriously, 30 lbs. Thirty! Sure, 13 of it was pure baby. But let me tell you, it felt good to look down at that scale for the first time a few days ago and see that I was back to pre-pregnancy weight. Everytime I’m exhausted from nursing twins around the clock, I’m just going to go hop on that scale and get a little boost and keep going. If the weight keeps melting off like this, I’m going to be one of those creepy ladies nursing my kids through elementary school.

The twins are thriving. I can’t believe how much they sleep. It just doesn’t seem normal, especially after Finn, who decided at two weeks old that he didn’t want to take long naps. I’m enjoying the naps, as they give me time to catch up on my own sleep. Also, they provide lots of photo opps, since anytime they’re napping next to each other, the twins scoot themselves together until their faces touch. It’s really beautiful.

Lucy & Rhett about a half hour after putting them down a few inches apart. Forgive the fact that Rhett looks like a hoodlum.

Rhett & Lucy

Lucy is a peaceful little girl. She’s constantly spitting up though and acts like she’s in pain after eating. As Patrick told her, she makes most unladylike noises. Her cheeks testify that she’s getting plenty to eat so while we’re keeping an eye on her, we’re not super worried. She’s started opening her eyes a lot more and I’m convinced she’s going to have Patrick’s eyes. She’s still a redhead. I told you so, mom and Patrick.

Rhett is a funny little guy. He has a skinny pointy face and is super curious. When he’s awake his eyes are constantly shifting around to whatever noise he hears. He scrunches his face up so that he looks like a little old man thinking hard. He’s also a redhead. His hair is fuzzy and sticky-up though, while Lucy’s looks like it’s going to be curly. (Although Jim called it “scuzzy.”)

The twins screaming!! Actually, they were just yawning. They're pretty peaceful. Must take after their dad.

He’s still pretty scrawny but has gained some of his lost weight back. I really enjoy holding him because he nuzzles in and grabs hold of my shirt in his teeny hand.

Finn has had a really hard time.  He was so excited for the first few days. Then I think it hit him that a) the twins required a lot of our time and b) they were here to stay. When we took them to their pediatrician’s appointment last week, I got the distinct feeling that Finn was hoping we’d leave them there. Add to that the fact that I can’t pick him up and the two of us have been very weepy and frustrated. He’s definitely not my biggest fan lately, which is hurtful but understandable. Last week he broke into hives. I asked Miles what causes it and he listed the three common reasons 1) food 2) medicine and 3) stress. I burst into tears. My toddler is stressed. Talk about feeling major mom-guilt. But as it turned out, he was having a reaction to antibiotics he had been on. Whew.

The saving grace in all this has been our friends and members of our church who have really stepped up and helped out. My friend Nadine, who knows I don’t like asking for help, became my “manager” and organized tons of help. Everyday Finn has a playdate and is out for the morning. He comes back happy and exhausted, which means a nice long nap and a better mood. We’ve had yummy dinners brought over every night since we’ve been home which helps a ton, and a few friends have done odd things around the house like folding laundry and vacuuming for us. There’s a long list of others who are on call for anything else we need. It really is touching and amazing to be a recipient of such selfless service.

Grandma Luisa left after being here for ten days. Finn loved having her around. Patrick noted that the two of them were the perfect match, with their seemingly endless nervous energy.  She was amazing, stepping in everywhere we needed help. Our house was sparkling by the time she left. I’m hoping she and Dad can come back again soon. Grandma LeAnn is recovering from painful knee surgery and is aching to come visit but will have to play it by ear. This picture will motivate her to get better so she can come out here for double cuddles.

As for Patrick and I,  we’re doing pretty well. It’s amazing how far we’ve come since having Finn. As opposed to Finn’s early days when the sleeplessness made us cranky and snippy, we’ve gotten much better at working together and supporting each other.  So this has been good for us. We’ve worked out a good routine for getting the kids in bed and around 8 we find ourselves flopped on the couch watching the Olympics in exhaustion.

We’re making our way. Twins are just as hard as we imagined, even with the easygoing sleepy ones we happened to get. My days are spent in that hazy cloud that comes when one’s sleep is shifted from one large block to many little power naps that make each day seem like a continuation of the day before. My memory and concentration are shot but I keep repeating to myself “just survive.” If I can be an unshowered, incoherent mess at any point in my life, this is probably it. At least I’m a thirty lbs lighter unshowered, incoherent mess.

Finn having a tender moment with Lucy

Note: The aforementioned Nadine has just opened an Etsy shop to sell baby changing kits that she makes. I was lucky enough to be gifted two of these by her (the black and white damask is mine!) and LOVE LOVE LOVE it. If you’re looking for a shower gift, visit her store.

7 Responses to “Notes From the Trenches”

  1. Grandma LeAnn February 23, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    I’m so motivated! I’ll start doing double shifts at physical therapy to get out there and get my hands on those kids and my darling Finn. In the meantime, my knitting needles are going 100 mph.

  2. aprillee February 24, 2010 at 12:07 am #

    Again these kids are adorable! Congrats on the weight loss that is so exciting! I am totally with you on the nursing and how it helps out! Hope you get some good naps today!

  3. Lisa Adams February 24, 2010 at 2:04 am #

    Your babies are beautiful! thanks for taking the time to keep us updated on your survival. We felt like we were in survival mode for at least a year after our twins were born and we didn’t have a toddler to keep up with too. i told Stacie to have fun and hold those babies for me.

  4. emilia February 24, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    love all these stories. you can do it!

  5. Liz February 26, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    You only gained 30 pounds and you were pregnant with TWINS?! HOW DO YOU DO IT?! If you can figure out your secret, I sense a multi-million dollar book deal.

  6. Jo February 26, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    Your babies are adorable, and it sounds like you’re doing great with it all. Being an unshowered, incoherent mess is part of the deal, but if you can do it at your pre-pregnancy weight? Well, all I can say is you are a GODDESS! Yay for breastfeeding, especially two hungry little varmints.

    I’m glad Finn’s hives were from the antibiotics, because with all those post-partum hormones the last thing you need is more guilt. Just keep reminding yourself that while Finn is having a hard adjustment, you’ve just given him the gift of a lifetime — a brother and a sister. If you want to put those post partum hormones to good weepy use, look up the old Elton John song “The Greatest Discovery”.

  7. Yvette Cantu March 1, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    They are all beautiful. I love the cuddle pics. How sweet a baby boy, Rhett. Lucy is a doll, and Finn is to precious. Can’t wait to meet the newbies. Hope to see you and the family soon.

Leave a Reply

