Sweet Heavenly Chocolate, How I Love You!

3 Nov

I love baking and, not to toot my own horn but,  people seem to enjoy the things I make. In an attempt to get back into the frequent blogging  habit (stop laughing!), I’m going to start sharing some of my favorite recipes. All of my best ones come from LeAnn so I’ll refrain from sharing those, as I’m sure that she could make millions if she ever published the cookbook she shared with her lucky daughters-in-law. Anyways, this week I’m going to give you the recipe that started it all. This was one of the first things I ever baked from scratch. I found it in an old cookbook at the library shortly after Patrick and I got married and I’ve tweaked it several times. It’s scrumptious! Enjoy!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Shortbread


1 1/2 c all-purpose flour

1/2 c Dutch process cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 c powdered suger

1 c mini chocolate chips

4 oz dark chocolate, chopped

 

Put oven racks in middle of oven. Preheat to 300. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Sift the flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt together and set aside.

Cream the butter in a large bowl, add powdered sugar and mix until smooth. Add the flour mixture and mix until it’s blended completely into the dough and the dough holds together, about 2 minutes. Be sure and scrape the bowl with a spatula to get it all in there.

Divide the dough in half. Press one half into a rectangle until it’s about 1/2″ thick. Do this on wax paper to avoid mess. Cut into sticks about 1″ wide and 2-3″ long. Don’t cut them into square or people will think they’re brownies and wonder what’s wrong with them. Put the cookies 1″ apart on baking sheet.

Bake 25 minutes or until the surface of the cookie goes from shiny to dull. Cool 10 minutes on the sheets, then move to wire racks.

Melt the dark chocolate (or white chocolate, or whatever you like) and stir until smooth. Drizzle it over the cookies and put them in the fridge to harden.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

