Do Your Babies Have Their Own Awareness Week? Yeah, I Didn’t Think So! Unless They Do, In Which Case, I Apologize for Trivializing Their Needs.

10 Nov

So apparently last week was International Multiple Births Awareness Week. I can’t believe I missed it. I mean, that hits close to home. I know a family that’s been affected by multiple births! We have a cause! Did anyone out there know this existed? Because frankly I think the twins are feeling a little shafted. I checked the local paper and saw no walkathons or pancake breakfast fundraisers listed. I saw no Office or Glee cast members doing PSA’s on TV this week. I’m wondering where the love is. I mean people, there are multiple births occurring EVERY DAY.

I’m thinking of getting rubber bracelets a la Livestrong for International Multiple Births Awareness Week. They’ll be multi-colored to signify chaos and they’ll say “Be Aware of Multiple Births!” or maybe “Beware of Multiple Births!”

Apparently the group behind this has issued a Declaration of Rights and Statement of Needs of Twins and Higher Order Multiples. My babies have their own specific declaration of rights! I’m a proud mama. Although, I’m a little ticked at the “higher order” thing. I don’t appreciate my twins being discriminated against. This can’t stand. I hereby declare this week “International Twins are Just as Cool as So-Called ‘Higher Order’ Multiples and In Just As Much Need of Awareness Week!”

You heard it here first.

5 Responses to “Do Your Babies Have Their Own Awareness Week? Yeah, I Didn’t Think So! Unless They Do, In Which Case, I Apologize for Trivializing Their Needs.”

  1. Mom November 10, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Sweetie. Come to Mama. Time for a break.

  2. Liz November 11, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Do they have a “Fat and Entitled” baby awareness week? Or a “Babies of Mixed Political Marriages” awareness week? No??

    I feel so shafted.

  3. Lisa Adams November 13, 2010 at 1:19 am #

    love this post and totally missed the whole event. never even knew there was such a thing. amazing πŸ™‚

  4. Nadine November 15, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    I think tie-die rainbow bracelets would be ideal- that or an rainbow-colored ink splash. I think it would truly give the feel of the chaos.

    I’m thinking of starting my own awareness group: The “Mothers of Children of One Gender” (MOCOG). Although to be effectively supportive, we might have to be divisive and only get moms of girls and then get moms of boys together.

  5. Amy December 19, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Well, lots of twins are preemie, and they have a month.

Leave a Reply

