Going to California

19 Jul

Today it finally hit me that we’re moving. Very soon. Two and a half weeks. Yikes.

It’s not that I’ve been in denial. I’ve just been purposely avoiding thinking about and planning for it all summer. I kept thinking that once we sold our house then we could get moving on logistics and everything would come together. In an ideal world.

So we didn’t sell our house. Totally disappointing especially knowing what a great house it is and that it should have sold. Just a matter of bad luck and bad timing. We’re going to take it off the market, get a renter, and then put it back up in the spring. Although it would be nice to be rid of the house and move on, this might work out better for us financially, so we’re fine with it. As long as nothing major breaks in the next nine months.

We may have finally found a place to live in California. Patrick and I went out in mid-June to house hunt and found a few homes that we really liked both in Claremont and Rancho Cucamonga (you can stop laughing now). After thinking hard about it though, we realized that renting for a year would be way smarter. It would give us a chance to figure out where in the area we want to live and allow us to wait for a dream house to come on the market. There’s a house in Claremont just a mile and a half from the university and next to botanical gardens that looks perfect. We have friends who are going to take a look at it for us in the next few days to make sure that it’s not a dump. I’m hopeful though.

So now that we may have found our place, I have a concrete location to think about. Today I woke up with the realization that in a couple weeks we’re going to pack up (or rather, be packed up) and leave our lives in South Bend to start over somewhere else. It feels a little like deja vu, except this time we’ll speak the language. All the apprehensions that come with relocating have popped up. Will we like it there (we’d better! We’re in it for the long haul!)? Will we be able to live comfortably? Will we find good friends?

That last question makes me most anxious. We’ve been spoiled in South Bend in that for most of our time here we had really great friends, the kind you could have fantastic conversations about anything with. Those kind of friends are hard to come by. So I’m crossing my fingers that we’ll find that. It’s always nerve-wracking meeting new people though.

In the meantime, I’m keeping busy. I’m glad that showing the house is all over and done with. Yesterday I had a few hours notice to clean the entire house for an afternoon showing. As soon as I got the message, I went into hyperdrive, scrubbing the kitchen counters of the blueberry fruit leather mixture I’d been making while one twins tugged on my shorts and screamed and the other overturned the laundry basket in the living room and very meticulously distributed the clothes all over the downstairs. Thankfully Liz took my kids for a few hours and I was able to get it done.

We’ve been enjoying summer- spending lots of time outside playing. We went to the St Joe County Fair (always one of our summer highlights) and have gone berry-picking a couple of times. One of the above mentioned friends who moved away came back for a few weeks with her kids and we were able to get together with them a bit. She came over and taught Liz and I how to make bread (she’s a pro!) which just opened up my world. I’ve been such a failure at yeast breads that I’d given up every being able to make an edible loaf. Between Allyson’s help and this amazing book, our house has been filled with the heavenly smell of baking bread for the last few weeks. The other night I made such a beautiful and yummy loaf I was giddy. Like dancing around giddy. Between that and the homemade jam that I made with those picked berries, we’re eating well here.

My beautiful loaf of bread!

My brief respite is over. I hear babies rustling upstairs.

One Response to “Going to California”

  1. Liz July 19, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Um, yeah, this post is too sad for me. I would like to continue living in d’nile, please (ha! I’m so punny!). I’m really, really excited for you guys, but really, really sad about the gaping hole that will be left when you’re gone. I might just hang out in your bushes and force you and the kids to hang out with us for these entire remaining 2.5 weeks.

Leave a Reply

